Look At ME, I'm Going to Ride Around the World! - An Unbelievable Tour Around An Imaginary World - CycleBlaze

Look At ME, I'm Going to Ride Around the World!

The Introduction

I've been a bike rider for most of my life.  Some of that time was pretty hard core.  I've only been a bike tourist for about a decade.  NONE of that time has been hard core.  

In all my years of cycling, I never thought it possible that I'd give even the remotest thought to an around-the-world tour.  Yet, here I am, just a regular guy, getting ready to do exactly that.

The craziest thing is that, like all of my other tours, I haven't done much planning ahead of time.  Heck, I just thought up the idea a few weeks ago.

As has been the case with my recent tours, family obligations prevent me from allotting a whole lot of time to a bike tour.  Still, I think I can comfortably dedicate a full month to exploring an entire planet by bicycle.  

Normally, I could probably circumnavigate the globe in about three weeks, but right now I'm a little out of shape.  Let me tell you, it's pretty hard to do any serious training this time of year in the United State of Minnesota.  I'm lucky if I can ride more than five or ten miles per day in these conditions. 

I'm not sure what's worse--ice and snow . . .
Heart 8 Comment 0
. . . or ten-degrees below zero (F) with biting windchills.
Heart 8 Comment 0
Some days, I expend more energy shoveling than bicycling.
Heart 7 Comment 2
Rich FrasierCross training!!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rich FrasierYes, that's exactly what I keep telling myself while shoveling. "It's good for me . . . it's good for me . . . it's good for me . . . "
I actually do believe it helps keep me in shape and I've gotten to the point where shoveling has become my 2nd favorite wintertime activity after bicycling.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It's okay though.  I plan to ride myself into shape.  I am a naive believer that even a mushy, part time winter cyclist like me can become a drug-enhanced, Lance Armstrong-like supercyclist after a few days of bike touring.  After that, I'm sure the rest of my trip will be all smooth sailing.

I'm almost ready to embark on my epic tour.  This introduction makes it official; there is no way I can back out now.  That would make me look like a spineless, all talk & no action, chicken liver who has no qualms about reneging on a promise he has made to the Cycleblaze world.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 14
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Ron SuchanekI don't know about the other slackers on Cycleblaze, but I'm gonna hold you to this. I predict you do the complete circumnavigation in less than 3 weeks.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago