Meeting CycleBlaze ambassadors! - Forty Two Miles A Day And Going Nowhere. - CycleBlaze

December 24, 2020

Meeting CycleBlaze ambassadors!

I’m imaging the built up asphalt area was done to help cyclists get to the parking area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I’ve never seen a ‘bikes wait’ sign before. Next it says ‘bikes go’.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Scott and Rachael Anderson!
Heart 5 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI wondered when this would happen!

Great to see cycle touring journals I'm following cross paths!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Scott AndersonI like this! It isn’t every day that I get to like a photo of the team. Great to meet up with you finally.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Art work on a bridge close to our motel. There were many different small tile murals.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo taken in Sabino Canyon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacinto’s photo. Bill has an image finder. How cool is that? It is the Mormon Temple.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltFound an image match! Tucson Mormon Temple.

https://www.kold.com/story/35551267/public-tours-for-the-new-mormon-temple-in-tucson/
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
jerry witherspoonKelly,

sure one can tell that church building was Mormon because of the golden statue of Moroni, the Son of Mormon and to whom it is said that the “golden plates” were given. He adorns the very top of all Mormon buildings.

spoon
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bill - see how these are red? The fruit is red also. Bill responded with stag horn cholla. We have all sorts of in house help!
Heart 1 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltI'd say it is likely staghorn cholla.
https://www.americansouthwest.net/plants/cacti/cylindropuntia-versicolor.html
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Kelly IniguezTo Bill ShaneyfeltThere have been very few this trip. More on the Mission Road.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today I checked the wind forecast before leaving.  Wind from the SE, as strong as 17 mph. That doesn't sound inviting. I decided on a redo of yesterday's ride. I would hopefully catch a tailwind back to town. Today is Christmas Eve and we had several discussions around what food would be available over the holiday. I volunteered to go back to Papa Taco and get more food. It's an excuse to ride a route that I didn't have much trouble following. That's a key part for me - easy routing!

I tried to talk myself out the door earlier, but it's tough when the sky is overcast and the wind is blowing. I started out with a vest and ear warmers and kept them on all day.

I saw one jogger in race type clothing - a singlet and shorts. His arms and shoulders were bright red from the cold. Most people were bundled up. Some people more than others. I took them to be locals who weren't used to the cold at all. 

I saw only one bicycle/dog combo today. A little white pug with a pink jacket on. She was sitting in a wire front basket, on top of a blanket. The bicyclist didn't appear to be the cute dog in a basket type. He didn't return my smile greeting, but kept a stern face as he passed by. He had a big walrus mustache.

There wasn't much traffic today on the path. The construction people weren't working on the closure at Tanque Verde. That's bad news for Loop riders. The printed information said finished by December 31st. I was hoping to ride that side once before leaving. They won't get it done if they aren't working. Look at me, slave driver on the holiday . . . 

Scott Anderson said they planned to ride the same direction today. I eagerly scanned all upcoming riders to see if they met the profiles I expected. 

I enjoyed today's ride, even with the poor weather. First of all, I was out riding, and it wasn't the 25 degree weather they had at home! Second, I had only a few hesitations on navigation, so mentally had a more enjoyable trip. Plus, this direction is scenic. Harrison Greenway is steep by local standards and it also has plenty of cacti and bushes to admire. The best part is five miles long, which is ten miles round trip!

At mile 12, I stopped at the 22nd Street park to use the restroom. I noticed someone was in the stall next door. No big deal. I used the bathroom, came back out and was standing at my bike when I heard the neighboring metal door clank. I turned my large bike around, which is a process. As I was doing that, I noticed the restroom guy vigorously scratching his balls. Ugh. Does he really have to do that here? As I sat down on my bike, I saw the guy had also sat down with his legs sprawled and . . .  . his dick and balls hanging out of his shorts. I will spare you the details, but, believe me, I could see all of the details! I quickly dismissed the thought that this was a baggy shorts accident. In my rearview mirror I could see him looking at me to gauge my reaction. I hope it was a non reaction, although mentally I was grossed out. This was my first flasher and I hope my last! I did call it in to the police. The officer taking the report said he would send a patrol car by to see if the man were still in the area. Yuck. I did not stop there on the return trip . . . 

I do have to say that the experience kept my mind off of the headwind for a few miles. Yes, the wind had appeared, I briefly considered turning around, but that would throw my extended mileages way off. I soldiered on, with thoughts of meeting the Andersons' in my head.

Things along the route were looking familiar in a good way. My planned route was almost ten miles shorter than yesterday, a concession due to the wind and 'cold' high temperature of 59.

I saw two high racer type recumbents. Not together. No tandems. Not a single trike, which was odd. No Andersons'. Yet.

I was happy to get to my turnaround, the taco store. There wasn't a single bicycle parked outside today. I went in and walked straight up to the counter to place my order. I ordered a burrito in a bowl for me, which came in a white styrofoam take out box. Hank had let Jacinto use a cargo net for bicycles on our Thanksgiving trip. I ordered us a three pack of the same nets. They are in the van . .  . . not here on the bike where I could use one. Sigh . .  .

I headed back down the road. Down being key. With a slight tailwind. At this rate, I would be back to the room in no time.

But, wait, what is that? I see two cyclists with high profiles. Yes! I do believe it is the Andersons'! Scott asked if I were Kelly. Yes, indeed. We pulled over, on both sides of the path. All you need is two female cyclists to talk over each other. Poor Scott, he mostly stood there silently and ate trail mix. Occasionally he got a word in edgewise. We talked until we were all chilled in the wind. We agreed to get together post COVID for a nice sit-down meal and a real get together. Isn't that fun? Our paths finally crossed after years of emailing!

I pedaled with extra vigor and a large smile. 16-18-20 mph downhill. I did not stop at 'the' restroom on the way back. I would hold it, thank you very much! I was miles down the road when it occurred to me that Bertha had quit talking. She should have told me about several sharp corners, but didn't mention them. Bridge crossings? Nope. Somehow she timed out, except ridewithgps is still tracking the ride. I hope she works tomorrow, because I'd like to try something new. Scott suggested riding north up the bike path towards Marana. I've already been that way, I think, on the day I rode the Canada de Oro. I need to check that out. Bertha needs to be talking!

I wasn't too cold or tired, I rode past the motel and got a couple of bonus miles, for a final of 44 miles. I am well on track to have 7,000 miles for the year. 7,000 is a record year for me, since I've started keeping track.

Today's ride: 44 miles (71 km)
Total: 287 miles (462 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Bill ShaneyfeltIt was about 25 here today when I ventured out at about 2:30 in the "heat of the day" with a west-northwest headwind. Temp started out near freezing this morning and dropped all day. I was dressed for it with my homemade face mask, ski gloves with knit liners and homemade wind hand covers going near my elbows, and homemade toe covers for my feet. Fingers still hurt... I think the stupid beta blocker med slows my circulation. Used to run in temps in the low 20s back in the 1990s and by mile 2 had gloves off. See what you've got to look forward to? Can't complain though, as I'd never dreamed I would still ride in sub freezing weather at almost age 75.

Enjoy the balmy weather! Thanks for all the great photos.

Merry Christmas!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
jerry witherspoonWell I thought I read every interesting blog in the world! But I was wrong. Today he exceeded my expectations by a quantum leap. Congrats on a first time description of a man who really had balls!
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Rachael AndersonWe really enjoyed visiting with you! Enjoy the rest of your time in Tucson.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltKelly, yes, I have an image finder... It is called plug in a description of a building and a location into google image search and see if anything matches. Sometimes it does, and if so, then I can post it. If it doesn't match, try a different description and so on.
Reply to this comment
3 years ago