Off too soon? - Recharging at the Electric Mountain - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2011

Off too soon?

Height climbed 825 metres

It's funny that nearly always when going on tour I wake up having not slept too well from excitement, and rushing out of bed eager to get going. Today wasn't like that, and I didn't see the significance of it.

Nevertheless, I got away in good time, making my way through amongst other places, Foolow.

Who, me?
Heart 1 Comment 0

I kept to the quiet traffic free country roads, and always consider grass growing in the middle of them to be a good thing.

Heart 3 Comment 0

After stumbling across a 16% gradient, much too soon in this trip for my liking, I eventually arrived in Buxton. Being a sunny afternoon I decided that a tea in a cafe was a good idea, and after my second one, but only 1 slice of cake, I started to feel dreadful. Worrying that I had set off too early after the illness last week I headed to the only campsite in the area that I knew - backtracking 5 miles. D'oh!

The Beech Croft Farm campsite in Blacklow set the pattern for this trip, costing only £5.50 with free showers. Unfortunately there was a heavy shower later this afternoon, but it did allow for a lovely rainbow berore an early night.

Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 70 miles (113 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0