False finish - Recharging at the Electric Mountain - CycleBlaze

September 11, 2011

False finish

Height climbed 1045 metres

After a poor nights sleep - the 1st night in the tent is always like this - coupled with lots of road and fellow camper noise - I decided to head back for home, I didn't want to push myself if still unwell.

I sheepishly turned round and headed back towards Sheffield, stopping at the world famous (at least it should be) Grindleford Cafe for a second breakfast. After lots of reflection I thought "stuff it, you only live once", and for the second time in a morning did a U-turn, heading back the way i'd just come back, past the entrance to the campsite i'd passed 25 wasted miles earlier.

Back through Buxton - again - and over the moors on the A54 towards Congleton, which was pleasantly mostly traffic free, allowing me to concentrate on the many steep 1st gear climbs with an increasingly strong wind.

Heart 2 Comment 0

I ended the day, tired but content at the Foxes Bank Farm Campsite, between Crewe and Audlem, and at £5 a bargain. The wind was really picking up strength now, and the farmers wife who ran the camping kindly offered me a space on her lawn to shelter from it.

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 139 miles (224 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0