Summary - Recharging at the Electric Mountain - CycleBlaze

September 16, 2011

Summary

It's 4 days since returning from my little tour, and time to summarise.

Would I do it again? Too right! I would only change a few little things, like the detour on Sunday morning, but the route was generally very good through some fantastic scenery and good hills from the Peak District and Snowdonia National Parks.

I'm a bit of a technophobe, and don't use a GPS, give me a map and or a compass any day. A while ago I purchased (for about £10 on Amazon) an AA Close-Up Britain Road Atlas in A4 format which has a scale of 1:100,000, or 1 1/2 miles to the inch. There is loads of detail on the pages, including bike routes. I cut out the pages that I need and put them in A4 document wallets and seal them with tape... Hey presto, a waterproof, well detailed, cheap navigation aid that doesn't need batteries.

The information I have given regarding height climbed was taken from bikeroutetoaster.com, which is I guess just one of many places you could get this from. In my humble opinion, altitude meters aren't worth the weight or space, and are affected by changes in the air pressure due to changing weather, so aren't particularly accurate either.

The bike performed exceptionally well with no issues, and I didn't even need to pump up the tyres or oil the chain (mind you, I was only away for 7 days).

The tent I used, a Wild Country Duolite Tourer, I had used only for 1 night prior to this trip. It performed extremely well in some strong winds. It is very easy and fast to put up and take down, and has a mammoth amount of space in the porch. Also, being 6'4", I was able to sit up comfortably in it. I am very pleased with this new purchase, i'll definitely be using it again, and I highly recommend it to others.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0