How? - Recharging at the Electric Mountain - CycleBlaze

September 10, 2011

How?

I'll be riding my self built 2010 Surly LHT with 62cm frame and 700c wheels. I'll avoid listing every component, but here are a few of the key ones;

Brooks B17 saddle

Ortlieb panniers

Schwalbe Marathon tyres, 35's

And some of the not so common ones;

Homemade front and rear racks, made from 10mm tubular steel and with double lower mounting points at the rear for extra strength.

Shimano dynamo hub to power B&M Lumotec LED light (fantastic), and a home made charging unit to charge mobile phone and camera batteries.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I plan to camp and cook most of my meals. Other than a 1 night trial, I'll be using my new and almost unused Wild Country Duolite Tourer tent. I'll be cooking on a well tried and tested MSR whisperlite stove with army issue mess tins.

My bike weighs 15.9kg when standing in it's underwear, and 34.8kg fully dressed but not fed. I weigh 95kg in my underwear, and I hate to think what i'll weigh when i've finished this curry.

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 35 miles (56 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0