Day 1: Maine’s coastal roller coaster - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 6, 2019

Day 1: Maine’s coastal roller coaster

Achieving 4244 elevation gain with one small climb after another

I had one song stuck in my head on repeat; while I climbed 4,244 vertical feet; but it wasn’t so bad; because the song that I had; was Sniff ‘n’ the tears, “Driver’s Seat”

A 7:30am departure in 39-degree weather brought me to the departure point overlooking the Bar Harbor harbor. From there it was a 20 mile ride to Ellsworth. Early morning traffic on Mt Desert Island wasn’t too bad, and there was ample space on the shoulders. But once onto the mainland, it was just the droning noise of car after car aster car after RV after car passing. All day. Thankfully, I had a song stuck in my head, ironically related to driving.

Riding through Bar Harbor as the sun starts rising over the buildings on the east side of the street
Heart 0 Comment 0
The fountain in the park overlooking the harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0

I pass through Trenton (Maine, not New Jersey) and the J&P Farm Market catches my eye - they are all decked out in pumpkins.

This is why I love touring in the fall - the colors are magnificent
Heart 0 Comment 0

I roll through Ellsworth by 9:30. Now I’m ridin in shorts and it’s in the low-40’s. A gaggle of cyclists out for the day (they didn’t have any touring gear) passes I the opposite direction. They are all outfitted with face masks, tights, etc. Am I just used to the cold temperatures?

Downtown Ellsworth, ME
Heart 0 Comment 0
10:00am - somewhere on Maine Rt 1
Heart 0 Comment 0

The sun I still out by 10:00 and in the low-50’s so I’m pretty much happy. I roll into Bucksport 11:45 and feeling the day’s ride. I have 40+ miles on the wheels, and still about 25 to go. I find the Buck memorial (which I supposedly haunted) and shoot a few pictures but didn’t see any ghosts. Then I cross over the Penobscot Narrows Bridge. At this point the wind has picked up and crossing over the bridge did push me sideways several times - did I remain in control? This blog entry proves I did.

Big chicken barn.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Here’s the Buck memorial. I didn’t see any ghosts
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing onto Verona Island. Fort Knox (no, not the one with all the gold) in the background
Heart 0 Comment 0

By this time the wind had really picked up. There’s a weather system moving in, which will dump a day’s worth of rain tomorrow (and guess who gets to ride in it?) The wind is at my 11:30 but once through Belfast I get t head straight into it. Oh, lucky day.

The wind arrows pointing straight at me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sailboats “on the hard” for the winter
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here I am with “Pink Floyd” (that’s the dinosaur’s name, Floyd”
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of the Belfast harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0
Colonial theatre in Belfast. The elephant is not real :-)
Heart 0 Comment 0

I roll into the campground around 3:00 but no one’s at the office and since I have no cell phone reception, decide to find a spot to camp and I’ll find the management later. But walking through the campground I see no showers or toilets, and since I’m out of water, I need to refill. So I head down the road and find the Merrybell Motel and book a room there for the night. Good thing, too, as the weather forecast is for rain all night and all tomorrow.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 64 miles (103 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0