Day 0: getting to the starting point - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 5, 2019

Day 0: getting to the starting point

Atlanta to Bar Harbor

From the moment I walk through the airport door; travel by commercial aircraft becomes such a chore; but the reward for the travel; begins to unravel; when I see the scenery on the Bar Harbor path along the shore

I went to bed at a decent hour last night and I still woke at 2:00am in anticipation of the upcoming trip. At 3:20 I finally decided to depart the hotel bed and hop on the air train to the airport. Ten minutes later I was in the airport, printed out my boarding pass and walked 2,563 steps to the gate (according to Fitbit)

Traveling at this early in the morning meant I was already in BOS by 7:45 so I had a ham, egg, and cheese muffin and cup of coffee from the LOUDEST Dunkin’ ever! Or, in Bostonian - wicked LOUD!

Now I don’t know how many of you have been in a small plane. And by small, I mean SMALL - you may thing a Canadair Regional jet is small, but how about 8 seats small, and one of those seats is for the pilot! The only thing smaller than that is a private plane. And it’s been years since I’ve flown one of those (I’m no longer current). So when the ground crew asked, “does anyone want to ‘be the co-pilot’ today?” I didn’t skip a beat for a chance to sit in the right seat. And that’s all I have to say about that.

“The bike isn’t the only thing I’ll be piloting this trip!” PILOT: “mr Mulvey you are not allowed to touch the controls” “but I have my pilots license...” “the most you can do is watch” “oh, well, at least I get a great view”
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flying into Bar Harbor
Heart 0 Comment 0

So once I arrived at Bar Harbor airport, I noticed the temperature was 53 instead of Atlanta’s 96+ this past week. Then it was onto the free shuttle bus to get into the village. After that, all that was left was to walk the town, assemble my bike, and then get something to eat. So that’s that and tomorrow I start putting miles under my tires!

The first thing I saw on the shore path was a ginormous cruise ship anchored in the bay
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walking along the shore path
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just about finished assembling the bike before dinner
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bob DistelbergLooking forward to following this adventure. By the way, it's getting pretty chilly at night here in the northeast. Stay warm!
Bob in Vermont
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Paul MulveyNice to meet you Bob in Vermont. I’m Jake from State Farm - no, wait, that’s an advertisement. I’m Paul from Alpharetta, GA. True about the temps going lower. I decided to skip the campground tonight and hole up in a motel because rain is forecast all tonight and all day tomorrow. I may skip camping tomorrow night as well. Riding in the rain is going to be fun tomorrow. Temps in the low 50’s - good thing I have rain gear :-)
Reply to this comment
4 years ago