Day 2: rain, rain, go away - Downeast Maine and the East Coast Greenway - CycleBlaze

October 7, 2019

Day 2: rain, rain, go away

Today was a tough day

I departed 6:40 for the next place, and wanted to set a good pace; but but fate pulled a surprise; because right in front of my eyes; was a sustained 13mph wind in my face!

I learned a lot today. 1. You can change the route to make yourself more comfortable 2. Maine route 1 might be the most direct route but it’s also the noisiest 3. Columbia waterproof shoes aren’t 4. Lightweight penetrating oil does wonders on a stubborn derailleur 5. A 40% chance of rain means it will rain. Multiple times. On and off. And sometimes with a driving wind 6. Priceline.com is the default (branded) site google maps leads you to when trying to book Best Western. And they charge you $15 to make the reservation. Lesson learned. 

I knew rai was in the forecast but I thought I might beat it to Camden since it wasn’t forecast to start raining until around 9:00. But when I rolled the bike outside it was dry, so I stepped in, grabbed my fork bag, and when I stepped outside to mount it, it was raining. Literally 12 seconds. So I rode in the rain 10 miles to Camden for breakfast, and was happy with the result. Great deli, great sandwich, great coffee. And I was dry.

7:15 and I’m at Lincoln beach. Yes, it really WAS that grey.
Heart 1 Comment 0
8:00am and I roll into Camden, ME. Either it’s close to Halloween or this house is seriously haunted
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of the harbor below the library. Rain has let up but it’s still wicked overcast
Heart 0 Comment 0
View of harbor from the park. Camden is really located in a scenic setting
Heart 0 Comment 0
I snagged a breakfast sandwich at this deli. Really, really good (since I couldn’t score breakfast at the motel)
Heart 1 Comment 0

At this point I decided to reroute the day. I originally planned to head toward the transportation museum south of Rockland, but with the  weather I realized I could save 12 miles AND put myself 6 miles further down the road by riding to Bath, and that destination was only 58 miles away. And there’s a Hampton Inn. Never mind I didn’t check to see if it was booked solid (it was). The route was direct and it worked - I rode direct to

Camden, ME main st
Heart 0 Comment 0
10:00am somewhere on the road to Damariscotta, ME
Heart 0 Comment 0

My derailleur was giving me trouble all day so I searched on google maps for a bike shop and the closest one was outside of Bath. So I set my sights on the destination to get the derailleur fixed, and I arrived around 2:20. A new read cable and lots of oil to loosen up the bushings, and Jesse only charged me $15 for all the work. I gave him $20 since I was so appreciative to get back on the road. I rode out and it was only breezy and 60 degrees. 10 minutes later the skies open up and I’m donning the rain pants again. It pours all the way to the motel. I check in and the bike (and me) are dripping all over the floor. I get a roll of paper towels to clean up the precipitation.

Wiscasset, ME. Yes, the sky that was once clear and WINDY is now turning back to rain. And I have to put on my rain pants again
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taste of Maine restaurant. Currently invaded by a ginormous lobster
Heart 0 Comment 0

Im soaked. I get into the room and start wiping down the bike. Then me. Then i’m Rinsing off the dry bags in the tub. I shower only option for dinner is a walk to the Applebee’s 1/2 mile down the road. I throw on the rain gear and walk. 10 minutes later I have a glass of Cabernet and the order a hamburger. Life is good again.

Weather radar for tonight and tomorrow morning. FML
Heart 0 Comment 0

Sorry for the lack of pictures. Today was really wet and rainy and I really wanted to get to my destination and into the motel. The bike shop was a good detour because the shifting now acts like new. As I look out the window it’s pouring and I still have the walk back to the motel.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow is another day...

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 129 miles (208 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0