Bike Nerd Stuff. - Dyn-o-mite In The Dolomites 2022 - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2022

Bike Nerd Stuff.

XXX

Last warning.  XXX

I am going to censor myself, but not the sexy bike photos.  So, I'm  not going to bore you with the details of each bike and will instead  let the photos speak for themselves.

Our original plan was to find a 'new' bike for Susanna.   After some careful perusing of Craigslist and Pinkbike, I found this beauty:

Soma Fogcutter.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraTo David MathersThanks David.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

After purchasing it and riding it home, I quickly fell in love with it.  It actually fit me way better than my Salsa Vaya.  It has a more aggressive road style geometry, which is very similar to my road bike; and I schemed how to make her mine. Mwa ha ha ha.  If I had a twistable moustache, I would doing that evil villain thing.

It turned out that this was a win win for both of us.  The Vaya has always fit Sue perfectly, and we are both happy with our respected bikes.  

After the rebuild. Somewhere in Stanley Park. Glad we were able to keep our stickers in the family. They are cherished tokens of the cols we have climbed over the years.
Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThis is wonderful. I’ve never noticed the sticker collection before.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Scott AndersonHi Scott. We're likely going to get doubles of some of the stickers on this trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Put all new 105 shifters, and full GRX on. Big 36 cassette in the rear. Hunt Gravel Wheelset. Sue is looking forward to getting this lovely bike on the road.
Heart 2 Comment 4
David MathersThat 36 looks like a dinner plate. Sue will love those gears in the mountains!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraAnd, with the 46/30 up front, it should be perfect! I might suffer on the other hand.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetTo Patrick O'HaraI have the same gearing and love it, though I sometimes think about an even bigger cassette...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraIt's perfect for climbing, that's for sure. With the cassette sizes and lo g cage rear derailleurs out there, it's amazing how big you can go.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Free Vancouver tourism promo. Container Brewery and Salsa Vaya. Going to have to cut that stem chimney back!
Heart 3 Comment 3
Scott AndersonWe’re going to have to meet over a round of these the next time we’re in town.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
David MathersLooks like you're doing Scott Anderson type research work. The stem chimney gotta go!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraWe will all have to meet for some 'Scott Anderson Research!'
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Okay.  The peep show is over.  

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Jacquie GaudetIt's amazing (to me) that you are such similar sizes. I have a photo of Al riding my Co-Motion to test the gears and it's hilarious. He's almost a foot taller than me.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraHi Jacquie. I know, right. Things worked out pretty good. If only we could share clothes.😀
Reply to this comment
1 year ago