One week to go. - Dyn-o-mite In The Dolomites 2022 - CycleBlaze

June 28, 2022

One week to go.

Stuff.

So, we leave in about a week.  Usually by this time, we have piles of gear heaped in well organized clumps on the floor.  Tent, sleeping bags, thermarests, and small inflatable pillows are obviously absent, and the once significant sprawling pile is a mere shadow of its former self.     

We store our gear in rolling tubs that are stowed under our bed; collecting dust bunnies for most of the year.  Judge if you wish, but I'd play the odds game and surmise that you and I have something in common, dear reader;)  

Yesterday we decided that we should roll the tubs out and pick out the things we need to bring.  After a head scratching short amount of time of playing 'stow or take', we looked at one another, and exclaimed, "That's it? That's all?"   So, now we have a small pathetic pile taking up more room than it needs to in our 575 sq. ft home for the next week.

I must admit that I'm looking forward to a lighter bike, but I also know that this trip is still going to be tough.  By no means do I carry more weight than Sue.  I am responsible for things that I will likely not lose, like sleeping bags and tents and such.  I do carry the food, but, Sue carries all of the 'bibs and bobs', as she like to call them.   You know.  The important stuff.  And, the 'bibs and bobs' curiously weight a lot.  It makes me question how much stuff she doesn't trust me with.  Humm?  Maybe I can play this to my advantage;)

As much as we love camping, It's also going to be nice to not have to carry, unpack, set up, tear down and re-pack gear every day.  Instead, we have the luxury of staying at least two nights at each segment of the trip;  in a real life hotel!  So.  A change is kinda nice!  Less kms, and more time exploring and slowing down.  

We've cut most of this stuff out this year's tour.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Scott AndersonThe monkey doesn’t get to go?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraHa ha. You mean George II? We are bad monkey owners. George I was lost somewhere during a train transfer in Italy. George II was lost in much the same way....in the same country. So, no more monkeys.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Okay.  Because you are reading this, I know that each of you can thumb tack yourself along the bike nerd spectrum of "bike-nerdness".   If you squint your eyes enough and hang your tongue ever so slightly, you'll pinpoint that spot.  

Everyone who is a bike nerd reads bike nerd journals like this; unless, you are my mother who reads our journal just to see if we're still alive.  Am I right?  You're lucky I understand you so well.    So, if you're a bike nerd like me.....keep on reading this journal.  

Speaking of fellow bike nerds, I'd like to thank fellow CycleBlazers for keeping the bike touring flame alive in our hearts and minds; especially during the Pandemic when so many of us were not travelling.  We looked forward to reading about your daily stories and travels.  They were a highlight of our dark Vancouver winter nights. 

Okay.  So, if you are a self-declared bike nerd like me, then you have to 'turn'  to the next page.  There will be naked pictures of bikes, so be forewarned.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0