The Perfectly Legitimate Start of a New Mini-Tour - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

July 10, 2022

The Perfectly Legitimate Start of a New Mini-Tour

An Undisclosed Destination (For Suspense Purposes)

This morning I was off on a new mini-tour.  It's a new beginning, a new month, a new direction, a new day.  Everything felt new except for my slower legs, my sore thumbs, my lungs, my eyes and my brain.  Those things have all seen better days, but I'm not complaining.  None of those body parts are defunct yet.  Even so, there is some truth in that song about the old gray mare.

Don't worry, I'm not quite that bad.  In fact, I'm still a tough guy and cycling every day has kept me in better shape than the average dude my age.  I've said it before and I'll say it again: I'll keep cycle touring for as long as I'm able to ride a 70-mile day if necessary, pedal up a few 10% hills under my own leg power, sleep comfortably on a foam pad in a tent, and carry my loaded bike up a flight of stairs.  That's my standard, and I'm sticking to it.

(I reserve the right to re-evaluate that standard in ten years or so.)

************

If you want to get all technical about it, today's bike ride wasn't actually the "perfectly legitimate start of a new mini-tour" I touted it to be in the title of this post.  That part begins tomorrow.

Nevertheless, my ride wasn't just a normal daily ride, nor was it what some people call a "shakedown ride."  I was truly on a specific mission directly related to this month's mini-tour.  That mission will become clear when (or IF?) you hang in there to view a few of my pictures and captions.

In order to get to the mysterious destination, I had to negotiate a bit of gravel. That was the best part of the ride.
Heart 4 Comment 4
Scott AndersonThis is amazing to me, because it looks wrong. What are you doing biking on the wrong side of the road, is my first thought. How quickly we adapt.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauI'm sorry to say it, but you've been in Europe too long. The right side of the road is the right side. So I'm right, right? On the other hand, Shakespeare said "there is no right or wrong, only thinking makes it so." And I think it was Huck Finn who said "there is no right or wrong, there's just stuff people do."
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Lednar De NallohTo Gregory GarceauLeft is right or right is wrong and the sun is north in winter, I'm confused and need a bottle of that Minnesota wine.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Lednar De NallohYou really are confused. Surely there's some decent wine in Australia to straighten you out.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

I might as well reveal the secret destination now.  I didn't take enough photos, nor do I have the writing skills to build up the suspense to the point where you can't take it anymore.  I'm no Hitchcock.

It all boils down to popular demand and I've already gotten two or three popular demands to write another one of my infamous bike touring wine reviews.  Therefore, the procurement of a bottle of wine was my mission today.  And since I've been bragging that this journal is a series of local mini-tours, I felt the need to pick up the most local wine I could think of.

I've been living in Hastings, Minnesota for 32 years now, and I've never been to Hastings' only winery.  I've ridden past the Alexis Bailly Vineyard a few times, but I never ventured onto its grounds.  I've never sampled their wines either, because I don't normally drink wine.

"Where the grapes can suffer" is Bailly's motto. I look forward to seeing if suffering grapes taste good.
Heart 5 Comment 0
I have no doubt these grape vines suffer. I used to suffer in the Minnesota climate too. Then I adjusted my clothing and adopted a more positive attitude. The grapes could learn from me.
Heart 4 Comment 0
That's me posing with some grapes. While they are suffering, I am as cool as a cucumber.
Heart 4 Comment 0
The driveway leading to the winery
Heart 1 Comment 0
I rarely review red wines, much less a fortified red wine like this "Minnesota Port." The tasting will be conducted at a campsite within the next couple of days. Then I'll write the review.
Heart 7 Comment 2
marilyn swettWe like wine - but it has to be sweet, not what you bought. Lots of sweet wine in Ohio!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettI honestly don't care for wine, I just like to review wine.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

  

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 113 miles (182 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Keith KleinHi,
I remember a party many years ago now when we lived on Cedar Lake in Scott Co. when we drank som Alexis Bailey port. My recollection may be hazy, but it seems to me that the following morning it wasn’t just the grapes that were suffering. Caveat Bibulorum.
An aside: have you noticed how many « Cedar Lakes » there are in Minnesota? I have and it’s a lot. I’ll bet there’s one near you.
Cheers,
Keith
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinA funny memory of your suffering, Keith. And thanks for the caveat, but it comes a bit late for my bibulioric activity.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago