****Every Mini-Tour Is A Learning Opportunity - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

June 21, 2022

****Every Mini-Tour Is A Learning Opportunity

My June mini-tour was an unquestioned Mini-Success.  Honestly, I considered it to be much better than a mini-success, but that's the highest rating a mini-tour can achieve, according to Article 6 of the United Bike Touring Constitution.  That's fair . . . I guess.

Had it not been a violation of said Constitution, however, I would have lobbied for a rating of something like Unparalleled Achievement in Cycle Touring History.

Whatever.  This morning, I figured it was time to start thinking about the July mini-tour.  I came up with some great ideas within the first five minutes.  See how smart I am?

************

I'm definitely going to utilize a couple of things I learned from June's mini-successful mini-tour.  One of those things is to avoid weekends.  Friday and Saturday nights are when State Parks and other public campgrounds fill up with RV campers and other amateurs.  Then they disappear on Sunday afternoon.  I'm pretty sure the same is true with occupants of motel rooms.  And for sure, on weekdays there are fewer roadies, inexperienced cyclists, and automobiles on the roads.

The other thing I learned is to try to be more tolerant.  Yes, sometimes I'm a judgmental ass, and sometimes RV campers, roadies, auto drivers, and bad bicycle riders can be pretty nice people.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Scott AndersonGood luck with the plan to get more tolerant. Gets tougher all the time.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettI like your idea of mini-tours. We think we may be going in that direction ourselves as we move into the trailering/short rides mode of travel. But we still want to do some touring, just not the 2-3 month odessys we used to ride.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith KleinHi,
I think you’ve hit upon a perfect formula. I hope I can try it for myself one day.
Cheers,
Keith
P.S. you need to include a wine review. It’s not really complete without one.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonYeah, sometimes I feel like the "get off my lawn"-grouchy-old-man stereotype, except in my case it's "get away from my campsite." (I don't care who walks on my poorly maintained lawn.) But I'm going to work on my intolerance and judgementalism. Yes, I am.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo marilyn swettI'm glad to hear you like the idea of mini-tours, but keep in mind, the idea was The Feeshko's, not mine. Gotta give credit where credit is due.

I haven't given up on those longer odysses though. Maybe next year? For now, these mini-tours seem like the most prudent option.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Keith KleinRest assured, there WILL be a wine review somewhere along the way. Maybe more than one. Your comment provided all the "popular demand" I need to subject the Cycleblaze world to that kind of abuse. If anybody complains, I will refer them to you.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago