Quite A Day - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2022

Quite A Day

Scenes From Hennepin Avenue

A few noteworthy things happened after I finished writing yesterday's blog.  I could have gone back and added them to that post, but I'm pretty sure it would go unread.  Seriously, who would revisit that crap if they didn't have to?

So, I'm going to trick you into reading it by adding another post.  I am pretty twisted that way.

After eating my smoked turkey & swiss on rye, I thought it might be fun to take an evening walk along Minneapolis' famous Hennepin Avenue.  Its a strip full of popular bars and restaurants.  I saw a couple of rooftop bars full of young people having a really good time.  The loud, booming bass beats certainly contributed to the party atmosphere.

At street level, I walked past a lot of people who weren't having such a good time.  Some of them were just hanging out.  Some of them were talking to themselves.  Some of them were searching the streets and parking lots for discarded cigarette butts.  Some of them begged for money. 

I ducked into a little bar for a nightcap.  It was next to the Orpheum Theater, where a play called "Wicked" was being performed.  I heard that play did pretty well on Broadway. 

"I should be able to get a decent beer here," I thought. As it turned out, I could have. But I opted for something else.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I've often read about the beauty of a good single-malt Scotch whiskey.  I've never tasted one and, at that time, I couldn't think of a better place to try my first than in "An American Bar with a Scotch Flavor."

I asked to see their Scotch list.  It had about 50 different brands, most of which I had never heard of.  I studied the list for a few minutes and randomly chose one with a very Scottish sounding name.

All I'm going to say is that I paid way too much money for something so disappointing.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I left the Mackenzie, walked around some more, then worked my way back to the Hampton Inn.  Remember when I said Minneapolis was Prince's town, but I had nothing to offer as proof except for his gold star at First Avenue?  Well, I came across a Prince mural right across the street from my hotel.

How could I miss such a thing? It's three stories tall!
Heart 3 Comment 2
Scott AndersonNice, but one for F. Scott would be even cooler.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonI can't imagine what a three-story mural of Fitz would look like. Hopefully it would be a rendition of that picture of ME sitting with him on that concrete ledge.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
The view outside my room
Heart 2 Comment 0
The view inside my room. It's so tidy. I could get to like this minimalist touring idea.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonWhat a nice spacious room! Here we are in a room the size of a shoe box where I have to keep my phone in my shoe by the side of the bed so I know what time it is! At least we didn’t have to keep our bikes in the room!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonThe room was pretty nice/but I paid the price. With one exception, in all my travels I've always been able to bring my bike into my room. Maybe that's because I don't mention my bike unless I have to. And sometimes I just sneak my bike to my room.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

While on my walk, I had picked up a bag of Doritos.  I started eating them while watching the nine o'clock news.  I almost spit out a mouthful of them when I saw the lead story.  

There had been a shooting at the George Floyd Square.  According to the news, it happened in broad daylight at about 12:50 p.m.  That would have been about 25 minutes before I arrived on the scene.  That probably explains why I saw such a strong police presence in the area.

This looks a lot like the picture I took.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Scott AndersonSo depressing. I’m not sure we want to come back.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

That's enough for now.  I'll write about today's ride home tomorrow.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Kathleen JonesYeah, deserves a separate entry.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonHow sad! I hope some day things can get back to normal! I hate what has happened in Portland, also.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Kathleen JonesThank you. In that case, I'm glad I did it.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago