Just A Regular Day With No Shootings - Touring DIFFERENTLY - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2022

Just A Regular Day With No Shootings

MY Town, Minnesota

Just because I didn't come across any crime scenes today doesn't mean my ride was uneventful.  In fact, the exciting events began before I even got out of downtown Minneapolis.  I missed a turn and went about a mile out of my way.  The only reason I didn't go TEN miles out of my way is because of my advanced knowledge of science--specifically, the science of astronomy.

I noticed the sun was still on my left.  According to my calculations, it should have been directly in front of me at this time of the morning (9:00).  I made a U-turn as soon as traffic would allow.

On my way back, I noticed a bike trail.  It was called the Cedar Lakes Trail.  I knew Cedar Lake was in the general direction I wanted to go, so I turned onto it.  Things were going along just fine until I came across a sign that said, "Trail Closed.  Follow Detour."

I did as instructed and rode several miles with a vague feeling that something just didn't feel right.  The lack of signage was no help.  Eventually, the position of the sun told me I should get off the trail and turn eastward at the next opportunity.  Again, I was saved by science. 

I worked my way to the Midtown Greenway and, from there, my route back to Hastings was firmly implanted in my highly scientific, directionally advanced, super-smart brain.

   

After a few miles of the Midtown Greenway, I knew to turn onto the popular West River Trail.  I saw many walkers, joggers and cyclists on that route.  From previous experience, there are ALWAYS many walkers, joggers and cyclists on that trail, no matter what day or what time it is.  I don't necessarily like that, mainly because I hate constantly having to say, "passing on your left."

I have a hard time staying within the speed limit but, I assure you, there are many young, fit roadies who ride at least TWICE that limit. A few e-bikers too.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Despite its name, there are only a few glimpses of the Mississippi River along the West River Trail. Here's one of the best ones. See why I call trees "view-blockers?"
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was ready for a short break a while ago, but I held out until I got close to the park shelter at Minnehaha Falls.  A visit to the Twin Cities is not complete without seeing the spectacular spectacularity of such a sacred place.

Sadly, there hasn't been much rainfall around here lately.  Minnehaha Falls was but a shadow of its usual self.  Normally the water flows with more impressive volume than what I saw today.

Sometimes the volume and pressure of the falls blasts a misty spray all the way up to where my bike and cartoon alter-ego are parked.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A little bit of history for my ride
Heart 3 Comment 0
A sandstone cliff for my ride
Heart 7 Comment 0

I decided to take the poorly paved lower route to the historic Fort Snelling instead of the nicely paved route at the top of the bluff.  It was so broken up that one could almost call it "gravelly."  

I think I went too far.  Last time I was here, I did not see this monument honoring the hundreds of Native Americans who were imprisoned at Fort Snelling until they could be relocated to reservations in Nebraska and elsewhere.  It's a sad story.

Heart 3 Comment 0

I backtracked, but I did not want to backtrack too far.  So I took a short cut and pushed my bike up a steep hiking trial.  When the trail leveled off, I jumped back on my bike and really liked riding in the remoteness.  Still, I had the uneasiness of not being where I thought I should be.

Luckily, I wasn't too far from where I thought I should be, and I made it to Fort Snelling State Park.  I had to go there because the bike route leading to the Mendota Bridge runs past the fort.  The Mendota Bridge is important for cyclists because there are no nearby alternatives for getting across the river.

A bike on the hiking trail. Slightly illegal, I'm guessing.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Fort Snelling was an important military outpost in the 1800's because of its strategic location above the junction of the Mississippi and Minnesota Rivers.
Heart 3 Comment 0
From the middle of the Mendota Bridge, you can look upriver and see downtown St. Paul.
Heart 2 Comment 0

There were quite a few cyclists on the bridge.  Yet, for every cyclist there were a few hundred cars & trucks.  It was very loud up there, but it sure wasn't the bicyclists causing all that noise.

I was confident I could make my way home from the bridge for sure.  Not so sure, however, that I didn't have to double check my confidence with my phone a couple of times.  It had been a few years since I've ridden from Minneapolis to MY town, and there have been some changes since then.  

When I got to the Flint Hills Resources' Pine Bend Refinery, I knew I was getting pretty close to the end.  I hopped onto the bike trail that would lead all the way to MY Town.  I hopped off of it a half-mile later.  Highway 55 would save me at least five miles and a half hour.

The biggest oil refinery in the upper-midwest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the refinery, there is another mile of heavy industrial area, and then eight miles of farmland all the way to MY Town.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Mini-Grand Sweeping Conclusion

Despite the lack of camping and remote outdoor adventure, I had a fun time on this mini-tour.  If I ever decide to do it again, I know where I can camp for free in the inner city, which is nice.

Not so nice is the little deception I played on the Feeshko.  When I told her I was going to spend three days in the Minneapolis-St. Paul metro area, she was less than enthusiastic.  She reads the newspapers too much and sees all the inner-city crimes.

"Whatever you do, don't go anywhere near the George Floyd area," she admonished, "there have been a number of shootings there."

"Yeah, but there are lots of people who live and visit in that area and the odds of getting shot are less than 1 in 100,000."

"I don't care.  Don't go to that area."

"OK, I won't."

I knew I was telling a total lie, since I thought the site would be one of the highlights of my trip.  I intended to tell her the truth after the fact--after I didn't get shot.  Now, after yesterday's events, I'm not so sure I should confess.  The Feeshko doesn't always read my blogs.  Maybe she won't see this one.  Yet, if she does read it, I could be in for a serious tongue-lashing.  Such a moral dilemma.

Finally, I am posting a map of the entire trip.  The ride up to St. Paul on the first day and the ride back from Minneapolis on the last day are mostly correct.  I couldn't possibly recount the zig-zagging I did while exploring the Fitzgerald neighborhood and the streets of downtown St. Paul and Minneapolis, so I just drew circles around those areas.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 309 miles (497 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonI found your video unnerving. After two months in the UK it looks wrong to bike on the right side. We’ll have to reprogram ourselves when we return to France.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonI’m amazed at your ability to use the sun to determine you’re going the wrong way! That would never work for me. It’s lucky I have such a good gps. Glad you made it home safely!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
marilyn swettWhat a nice little tour and close to home!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Scott AndersonFor some reason, I thought France was the same as Great Britain as far riding on the wrong side of the road. I guess not.

I don't know how well I'd adapt to riding on the left. If I were ever to ride in England, it's likely I'd get hit head-on by a car.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauTo Rachael AndersonI was lucky it wasn't a cloudy day.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Gregory GarceauNo, most of Europe drives on the right along with most of the rest of the world. The exceptions are mostly UK and their former colonies - NZ, Australia, Cyprus, spots like that. JPan is one of the few exceptions, that adopted it independently of the UK. The background is interesting, something I didn’t realize before. It predates motor vehicles, back to times when drivers and Smurf wanted to keep their right hand free to fight off highwaymen.

And you’re right, it is a hazard adjusting to it. We still had a couple of close calls from forgetting a month into the trip.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Emily SharpI've just caught up on your summer local tours. You really do have lots of interesting topography and cultural experiences close at hand. I love seeing all that green vegetation and knowing that you can get out amongst it so quickly and easily. The hills associated with the river bluffs would be quite fun. Glad to see you visit First Ave on your city tour - I would have been aghast if you didn't, lol. Certainly if time travel were a thing, one of my first trips would be to 7th St Entry in the early 80s to see Husker Du :-) The whole George Floyd experience and aftermath would have been confronting, but maybe that is kinda good - change only comes when enough people are uncomfortable. Looking forward to the next mini-tour. Hope you and The Feeshko have an excellent autumn before icicle season begins.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gregory GarceauYou are right about the Mississippi River bluffs, they ARE fun. And most assuredly, I was thinking about you the entire time I was taking pictures of First Avenue. Not sure how many of us bike tourists are familiar with Husker Du, The Replacements, et. al.

I'm guessing you are back in Australia now and preparing for your big adventure.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago