08/12/23 Packwood to Morton - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 12, 2023

08/12/23 Packwood to Morton

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was very comfortable in my tent last night, one of the rare times where I found a perfectly flat spot.  It’s the little things. 

I rode through a lot of trees, getting to Morton in the middle of the 80th Morton Loggers Jubilee.  I’d missed the lawnmower races, those were yesterday, and the parade was this morning but the logging competition was in full swing. I watched people work themselves into total exhaustion, chopping and sawing against time. Most impressive was the tree topping competition, climbing an 80 foot pole and sawing a few inches off the top.  The winner casually sat on the top of his pole, swaying in the wind while waiting for the other contestant to finish. I clinch just recalling it. 

I’m camping in the city park which is completely packed with people in town for the party weekend. There’s a DJ blaring music across the way.  I’m getting to stay for free because it’s basically chaotic and was told to pick a spot anywhere and I believe I may have found another perfect lie. 

Not really representative of today because it’s nice and shaded, but that’s why I took the picture
Heart 1 Comment 0
Well done
Heart 1 Comment 0
Need to pick up the game at Hampton Lumber
Heart 0 Comment 0
With that many antennas they must be following a diverse collection of news sources
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltShort wave radio buff... I know a few. They talk to people all around the globe.
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
This is an antique store, but I was afraid to go inside
Heart 0 Comment 1
George HallConfederate flags, yikes! Good call to pass on this "attraction."
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
I arrived in the middle of the Logger Jubilee
Heart 0 Comment 0
Everyone was here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tree topping competition
Heart 0 Comment 0
Climb to the top and saw a few inches off the top
Heart 0 Comment 0
It’s easy when you’re the star
Heart 0 Comment 0
The poor guy on the right was really struggling
Heart 0 Comment 0
Axe throwing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Standing room only in the beer garden
Heart 0 Comment 0
A fun afternoon
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 36 miles (58 km)
Total: 3,375 miles (5,432 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0