08/11/23 Indian Creek CG to Packwood - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2023

08/11/23 Indian Creek CG to Packwood

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was woken by the sound of a car alarm going off elsewhere in the campground, not as nice as the birds but much more effective.  I slept well, making steady improvement. I was able to swing my leg over the seat without having to drop the bike extra low or make old person noises this morning. 

It was a slow grind up to the top of White Pass, not terribly hard but I was feeling lethargic and took lots of breaks. No wind until after I crested, that made me feel even better about quitting early yesterday. My rear tire went soft and I said oh shit, I don’t want to deal with this. I pumped it up and continued and hours later it is still full and tight. I’m assuming it’s the slime inside that sealed a leak, but I’m not over thinking it.  I decided to stop in Packwood when I found an RV park with $10 camping, showers and a brew pub across the street. 

I think I’m done with interesting riding for a while. I’ve gone into simple transportation mode with the goal of getting to Eugene as soon as possible to swap my gearbox and there don’t seem to be any scenic ways to get there from here. I’ve decided to go through Longview, route beyond that to be figured out manaña. 

Beginning the final leg up White Pass
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rocks are falling all the time
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking down on a waterfall and appreciating that someone cut down the tree that would have blocked the view
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dog Lake
Heart 1 Comment 0
Mount Rainier is what I came this way to see
Heart 3 Comment 0
Staying at the Packwood RV Park. Nice showers
Heart 3 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 miles (48 km)
Total: 3,339 miles (5,374 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0