08/10/23 Windy Point to Indian Creek CG - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 10, 2023

08/10/23 Windy Point to Indian Creek CG

Heart 0 Comment 0

It was a stiff, in my face wind from the moment I left Windy Point Campground to when I got to Indian Creek a few hours later. I hadn’t intended to stay, my destination being the campground at the top of White Pass and about 9 miles further on. But the grade got steeper for those nine miles and with the persistent headwind it just felt like work.  It was barely noon when I decided this was a good time to stop. I had a leisurely afternoon in the trees, went to bed early and read myself to sleep. 

My hydrologist friend Bob Bryce explained “This is a USGS stream gauging station. A brave hydrologist climbs in the cable car and at designated points across the stream lowers a current meter into the stream to measure the velocity of the water. From these measurements they determine river flow in cubic feet per minute or some equivalent unit.“
Heart 0 Comment 0
Riding through the trees
Heart 1 Comment 0
Traffic was light so I rode back and forth a couple of times to use the darkness to adjust my headlight. I’m always in bed by the time it’s dark enough to do this at night
Heart 1 Comment 0
Riding along the Tieton River
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tieton River forms Rimrock Lake at Tieton Dam
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Indian Creek Campground
Heart 2 Comment 0
I bought these poles in Ellensburg, they’ve been on my wish list for while. Not just for hiking but also as a defense against redneck dogs, though I haven’t met any of those since Idaho. For now they make excellent canes for hobbling around in the mornings and evenings
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 3,309 miles (5,325 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0