08/13/23 Morton to Castle Rock - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 13, 2023

08/13/23 Morton to Castle Rock

I’ve lost all my elevation, almost at sea level now
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was trying to take it slow, aiming to intercept a package in Longview that might arrive tomorrow, and wanted to camp in the old growth forest in the Lewis and Clark State Park.  But a heat wave has stated and it’s stuffy in the forest, not appealing at all. The riding was mostly downhill and pretty so I kept on going until I got to Castle Rock and a motel with air conditioning. Castle Rock is an exit off I-5 that I’d passed many times when I was going to school in Tacoma waaay back when and never imagined I’d find myself here. I’d already booked an Airbnb for tomorrow in Longview, so tomorrow will be very short which is fine because it’s also supposed to be very hot.

Lewis and Clark State Park
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red cedar
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hard to imagine that these were the size of the trees that greeted the first loggers, you could make a banquet table with a single board
Heart 0 Comment 0
Across the road from the old growth forest
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking a break from the heat behind a church
Heart 1 Comment 0
In spite of the heat, it was nice riding through the trees
Heart 0 Comment 0
The ferns and moss seem out of place with today’s weather
Heart 0 Comment 0
I crossed I-5 today
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 3,430 miles (5,520 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0