08/14/23 Castle Rock to Longview - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 14, 2023

08/14/23 Castle Rock to Longview

10% climb to get to my Airbnb at the end
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn’t go far today. About 12 miles down the road to Longview where I hung out in parks and coffee houses all day until the afternoon when my new saddle arrived at the post office. I had booked an Airbnb which I could have checked into, but I discovered it was up such a steep hill that I was only going to climb it once. After replacing my saddle and sending the old one home for repair I continued to hang out in parks until dinner.   It was 96 degrees when I finally made the trek up the hill,  walking the last half. 

I have an appointment at Co-Motion on Friday morning giving me three days to get to Eugene. Ordinarily that should be easily done, but this heat wave has another day to run.  I’ve left tomorrow’s destination undecided, I’ll stop when it’s gotten too hot.  

Unexciting ride from Castle Rock to Longview. Basically following I-5 only with more turns and steeper grades
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cowlitz River
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty tree lined streets in the historic and lovely west side of Longview
Heart 1 Comment 0
This guy waddled over and hung out like a cat for an hour. Took a nap
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 3,452 miles (5,555 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0