08/15/23 Longview, WA to Hillsboro, OR - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 15, 2023

08/15/23 Longview, WA to Hillsboro, OR

Heart 0 Comment 0

All anyone talks about is the heat. I tried to leave early but it’s much easier to ignore my alarm from a bed than my tent.  I followed US 30 south into Oregon and then cut over a small hill to avoid going into Portland proper, I’m already coping with enough humanity and machinery as is.   I was very appreciative of my Hydro Flasks today, consuming 8 liters of ice cold water. I didn’t drink it all, some I used on my head.  I achieved my goal of getting over the first climb of note without succumbing to the heat, and took a room at the first hotel I came upon. I had more interesting thoughts to write down but they all dissipated once I found cold beer at the bar in the lobby. This Holiday Inn is nice, I’m glad to be here. 

Taking the Lewis and Clark Bridge over the Columbia River
Heart 1 Comment 0
Trashy shoulder, but mostly wood chips
Heart 0 Comment 0
A forest waits to be loaded onto ships
Heart 0 Comment 0
Timber getting sent off to school, to come back as furniture and having forgotten its humble beginnings
Heart 0 Comment 1
Mike AylingOr woodchips?
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
Columbia River, much larger now than when first encountered at Kettle Falls, two weeks ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oregon!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cornelius Pass Road has a fairly gentle grade over the hill to Hillsboro, and no shoulder. But in the shade! Traffic was heavy, with large trucks tailed by long strings of cars and many times I would stop to let them all pass. I guess that is why my routing software wanted to insist I take a different, and steeper road. But I’m the boss
Heart 0 Comment 0
Out of the shade for the steepest part
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering the west Portland suburbs
Heart 0 Comment 0
A glorious sight
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 3,504 miles (5,639 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0