08/16/23 Hillsboro to Monmouth - Training Ride - CycleBlaze

August 16, 2023

08/16/23 Hillsboro to Monmouth

Heart 0 Comment 0

I was up and on the road before sunrise, motivated by the memory of yesterday’s heat. I was able to make it over the top of the only challenging climb of the day before things got really fierce, and treated myself to a long break in Newberg after I coasted to the bottom. I thought I was resting after a workout but what I was really doing was letting the last hour of tolerable temperatures go by without riding an inch. It got to be over 100 and the heat coming off the asphalt was soul sucking.  While in Newberg I booked a motel in Monmouth, giving me an air conditioned target to aim for and which I am relieved to have reached. Things are supposed to not get nearly as hot tomorrow and pleasant after that and I’ll be done talking about the weather.

Joining the commuters in the early morning
Heart 0 Comment 0
Blackberries are growing all along the road. Too hot to pick though
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oregon, soon to be the banana capital
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mike was on his morning constitutional when we met near the top of the climb. Mike grows hazelnuts on his property.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We took pictures of each other
Heart 2 Comment 1
George MercerNice Roadrunner Tshirt!
Reply to this comment
8 months ago
This section was in the shade and very nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wide shoulders for a change
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not authentic
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flag disposal box run by the local VFW
Heart 0 Comment 0
Harvesting onions in 95 degrees
Heart 0 Comment 0
I took a long break in this shade
Heart 0 Comment 0
Floyd stopped to offer me a ride for the last 10 miles and I gladly accepted. Only with my frame bag bolted in I couldn’t hang my bike on his rack.
Heart 0 Comment 0
So hot and dry
Heart 0 Comment 0
The last 6 miles to Monmouth are on a new cycle path
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 3,566 miles (5,739 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0