Day - 25 More Prague - Donaueschingen to Prague - CycleBlaze

October 1, 2019

Day - 25 More Prague

More walking, sightseeing and a little retail therapy.  I started the morning with the 3rd part of the hop on hop off bus tour.  This city is fast becoming one of my favourites in Europe.  Once I was finished I explored on foot a few areas that were new to me.  Our bikes arrived all packed at Ron and Carol’s hotel and then I had to get mine to our flat which I accomplished easily with driving service.  Ron and Carol are very kindly hosting Patti and me to a jazz boat dinner cruise on the Vltava River tonight, thanks guys it was a lovely treat.

A local market with a weaver. It is 9:20 AM and his beer is half finished. Apparently the Czechs drink even more beer than the Germans. I can understand why it is so good.
Heart 0 Comment 1
Steve Miller/GrampiesWe were told several times that beer is not a drink, it is food. I guess if you look at it that way he was halfway through his breakfast.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
The clock tower this morning.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view down Wenceslas square the site of the 1989 Velvet Revolution.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Wenceslas himself.
Heart 0 Comment 0
St Henry’s tower originally built out of wood in 1475. It has 10 floors with the top floor giving a panoramic view of the city. There are 2 floors for a restaurant that looks very interesting and 2 floors for a scotch bar. There is also a small gallery and museum inside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The view from the 10th floor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
While walking about I came across another market.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The clock tower at noon through an archway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I was looking for a Czech/Prague jersey and I found a beauty but only too big or too small so I bought this long sleeve jersey.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It is the team kit of a local club.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The 2017 team
Heart 1 Comment 0
It shows six bronze figures descending a flight of stairs. The statues appear more "decayed" the further away they are from you - losing limbs and their bodies breaking open. It symbolises how political prisoners were affected by Communism. There is also a bronze strip that runs along the centre of the memorial, showing estimated numbers of those impacted by communism:* 205,486 arrested* 170,938 forced into exile* 4,500 died in prison* 327 shot trying to escape* 248 executedThe bronze plaque nearby reads:"The memorial to the victims of communism is dedicated to all victims not only those who were jailed or executed but also those whose lives were ruined by totalitarian despotism"
Heart 0 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonWow, this is extremely impressive and must have been emotional viewing this incredible display.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
My bike is packed for the trip home.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our cruise and dinner plans for tonight. Yes I will stay awake.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Gail JohnsonOh my, my - even Bob has FOMO!
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
J
Prague castle at night.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Charles bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another church on the hill and the tunnel we had to walk our bikes through when we arrived.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This row of plastic penguins that are all lit up line the side of the canal and lock that the boat had to pass through.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The jazz band that entertained us though dinner and the cruise.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Tricia GrahamI have so enjoyed reading your journey particuly in the Czech Republic which I love so different from your other cycle trips
Reply to this comment
4 years ago
Gail JohnsonWonderful post.
Reply to this comment
4 years ago