Day 26 - Last day in Prague - Donaueschingen to Prague - CycleBlaze

October 2, 2019

Day 26 - Last day in Prague

Today is our last full day in Prague.  We all head home tomorrow via 3 different routes with me leaving the earliest on a 6AM flight to Frankfurt and a 10AM flight to Vancouver.  Once in Vancouver I will pick up my truck and catch the ferry so I will be home tomorrow night.  For my last day I wandered up to the monastery and Prague Castle via the funicular.  I indulged in few of my favourite Czech foods and drink since it is my last chance.  I chilled out in the apt in the afternoon and then we had an early dinner with Ron and Carol at a famous restaurant that just happened to be near our flat.

Republic Square
Heart 0 Comment 0
A concert hall, I missed the opportunity to take in a concert but maybe next time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The funicular that took up the hillside.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Acute bronze statue at the castle hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The castle beer location
Heart 0 Comment 0
My baby beer and goulash soup, yum.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Prague castle with St Vitus church in behind.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guard at the castle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
On the square in front of the castle were several vendors including this one selling Czech food.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A blacksmith was also set up in the square.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My new bell
Heart 1 Comment 0
A view of the monastery as I descend from the castle.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Czech Republic is known for its leaded crystal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Classically patterns tend to be very ornate.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One more photo of the astronomical clock.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Our dinner location. A famous hotel landmark in Prague. Built in the early 1900s it was a location where the well healed of Prague ate until WWII. During the war it was a favourite location for ranking Germans so the locals boycotted it. After the war it regained its prominence and is not renovated to its previous glory and has a chef who is considered the Gordon Ramsay of the Czech Republic.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The interior.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My classic Czech dinner of braised beef in a creamed gravy with dumplings. Today’s food was all things Czech.
Heart 0 Comment 0
More of the interior.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0