Day 1: Missed the Rain - Cycling Siblings: Touring Kentucky - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2021

Day 1: Missed the Rain

Cave-In-Rock, IL to Sebree, KY

Day 1 is in the books and a day late being posted because I accidentally deleted the first entry.

It was raining this morning at 4 when I got up to go to the bathroom...I decided to not think about it and went back to sleep for another hour.  Once we were up we ate breakfast, then were in the car by 6:30 for an hour and a half drive to the ferry in Cave-In-Rock, IL.  Fortunately, the rain had stopped by the time we arrived.  We loaded Peter’s bike with the bulk of our stuff, and my bike with the  small pack I would carry, then we headed down to the ferry to cross the Ohio river to get back to Kentucky.  Joy and Jeff crossed with us then headed back to Henderson.  We were now on our own.

I managed to drop my chain 3 times in the first 10 miles.  The third time Peter had to help me unstick my chain which took at least 20 minutes.  We ended up stopping in Marion, KY at a Mc Donald’s for a mid morning snack and a phone call to Ryan Smith, Peter’s good friend and bike aficionado.  Ryan talked Peter through some steps to fix the problem and I’m happy to report I didn’t drop the chain the rest of the day...thanks Ryan!

After we left Marion we were headed to Clay, KY for lunch.  However, we had to make an unscheduled stop for me because I was getting a little light headed from the heat.  After about 20 minutes I was feeling better and we were back on the road.  We got to Clay and found Jeri’s Cafe.  Not 3 minutes after we were seated there was a torrential down pour however by the time we finished, our shared catfish lunch special, the rains had stopped.  

The last part of our journey was just as beautiful as the first.  I especially enjoyed looking at all the green landscape because it’s something I don’t see very often in California and it’s one of the things I’ve missed since moving away from KY 40 years ago.

We arrived at the Sebree First Baptist Church around 3:30 and the Pastor, Dylan, promptly took us on a tour of our accommodations for the night.   WOW...I thought I’d died and gone to heaven, there was a special room for cyclist which had an amazing shower complete with everything you would ever need to take shower,  we had the use of a washer and dryer, there were cots and pillows available, Peter’s choice, or comfy couches which was my choice, plus other amenities.  After our tour Peter and I stretched for about 30 minutes then it was off to the shower for me, Peter organized a little and then took his turn.  As we were getting our laundry together to wash another cyclist, Diane, arrived.  We helped show her the ropes and while she was showering we started her laundry with ours.  We then attended the Sunday night Bible study where we felt very welcomed.  After the study Peter and Diane walked downtown to pick up dinner to bring back to our home for the night, Diane got a sub sandwich while Peter and I shared the best pizza from the Pizza Shack.  We thoroughly enjoyed having the opportunity to share a meal with another cyclist. 

It was getting late and we were all tired.  I read my journal entry to Peter to get his input and then thought I saved it so he could add the pictures but unfortunately I did something wrong  and lost the whole thing.  Peter went to bed as I stayed up and rewrote the entry while this day was still fresh in my mind.  

Other than losing my first journal entry it was a great day!

Our stats.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lets get started.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Dori MackGreat picture!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There’s Kentucky.
Heart 1 Comment 0
First stop.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Dori MackGood to know there are portalets on the trail.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
It’s official, touring Kentucky.
Heart 3 Comment 0
You know you’re in Kentucky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Trans American Trail sign. This trail goes from Atlantic Ocean to Pacific Ocean…..we’re just doing the Kentucky part.
Heart 2 Comment 1
Dori MackHow cool! I'll have to look it up to see where it is in California.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heat break.
Heart 1 Comment 0
First injury, and it wasn’t me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morri’s bike kept throwing the chain off. Contacted Ryan Smith for mechanical advice via cell phone.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Thank you Ryan Smith.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 1
Dori MackWow, that is green!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Catfish at Jeri’s, hmmmmmm!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 1
Cint VarniLook at that beautiful country! You look so happy!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
First stop, Sebree, KY.
Heart 2 Comment 0
A little stretching after four and a half hours in the saddle, around 6 hours with stops.
Heart 1 Comment 0
What a great setup at Sebree First Baptist Church. Kudos to Pastor Dylan and his gang.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Another cyclist stayed the night. She is doing the complete Trans American Trail from Virginia to Oregon.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 55 miles (89 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 4
Cint VarniLove the pictures!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Theresa MatteiGood job on your first day out! So glad you got your chain fixed, Morri. You guys look great and seem thrilled! Stay safe,

Theresa
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dori MackSo fun to follow along. Thanks for posting!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Babs NashGo Morri!! Go Peter!! Praying for you both! Love the smiles!!! So glad you missed the downpour and got the chain repaired! Keep the carbs flowing with the smiles! Sending love and hugs!!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago