Final Thoughts - Cycling Siblings: Touring Kentucky - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2021

Final Thoughts

Final thoughts from the Cycling Siblings.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Morri’s final thoughts…

This cycling adventure didn’t turn out the way I planned, but I’m still so grateful to have had the opportunity to have shared it with my brother.  

I was really disappointed that I had to throw in the towel after the second day.  I hate not finishing something I start, especially when it’s something I’ve been planning and looking forward to for a long time.  I then had to look at all the blessings that came to me as a result of getting dehydrated and ending up in the E. R.  The kindness of the people that helped me, when I felt so bad, was overwhelming and humbling.  

Even though I wasn’t riding along side of Peter the last 6 days, with the exception 5+ miles for 3 days, I still got to spend quality time with him and share in his joy throughout this journey.  However, I thoroughly enjoyed gazing on the country side while driving slow in the car, but it definitely does not compare to doing it in the saddle of a bike.  I’m not sure I’m cut out for long, multiple days of bike touring but I would like to try it again, maybe start with 3 days and definitely when it’s cooler.  

Peter’s final thoughts…

I’ve been wanting to do a touring trip for years, but something has always come up to keep me from doing it.  Last year I put my foot down and decided that was the year, then I broke my foot.  Dag-gone-it, another year and no bike tour.   This year my sister, Morri, decided that she wanted to go with me. We picked a date, plane tickets were purchased, so I was committed to finally go on a bike touring trip through Kentucky. 

The few great things about the trip:

As always, it was great hanging out with my sister and I was glad she was able to take part in the adventure and it was a great adventure.

I’ve always been in awe of the beauty of our country during any traveling I’ve done. This bike tour put an explanation mark on my awe and wonder. I had to be careful to not miss a turn due to looking around at the Kentucky beauty. 

The people!   I thoroughly enjoyed meeting and talking to so many different people, it was joy overflowing to listen to their stories. It was well worth the extra time. 

And finally, I was truly blessed by God on this adventure. His timing was perfect. He put the right people in the right places, at the right time.  Morri getting sick, the unexpected detour, short-cut that was not a short-cut, uphill rollers, heat, and even the rain were all blessings from God and were part of my great adventure. 

TRIP FAVORITES…

Favorite place we stayed:  Wigwam Village No.2

Most accommodating facility:  Sebree Baptist Church Cycling Hostel

Best Meal:  (Morri) the dinner Cay fixed me when I came back to get the car. (Peter) the breakfast at the diner in Fordsville

Favorite drink:  (Morri) Starbucks mocha Frappuccino over ice. (Peter) Starbucks vanilla Frappuccino 

Favorite ride:  Day 8 Harrodsburg to Berea (if I had been able to ride, it would probably have been my favorite too)

Best SAG support “Life Savers”:  (Morri) Tomi and  Pastor Joe in Fordsville and Joe Heller, Peter’s neighbor.  (Peter) Morri when she brought me iced Smart water in Mackville and Ryan for mechanical support, over the phone, for Morri’s bike. 

Best Hosts:  Jeff & Joy

Most Cordial facilities host:  (Morri) Keith  (Peter) Charley and Keith

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0