Warm up ride - Cycling Siblings: Touring Kentucky - CycleBlaze

June 4, 2021

Warm up ride

My brother Peter and I planned to ride across Kentucky in 2019, but he broke his foot and the ride was off.   We set a new date for our ride for June 2020, then the pandemic squashed our plans again.  Finally, it looks like our adventure is going to happen.  I flew in on Wednesday from California and I’m staying with Peter and his wife, Cay, in Aberdeen, Ohio.  We have been preparing for our our trip and our bags “panniers” are packed and we’re ready to go. Today, we took a 31 mile trial run through Brown and Adams County, Ohio with our cousin Paul.  Since Peter has volunteered to be my pack mule for our trip, this gave us the opportunity to see what to expect with his bike fully loaded.  I have to say it was a thrill to pass him going up the hills. 

Jeff Lee, Peter’s long time cycling friend, came over tonight for dinner and will be back in the morning to take us to our starting point after spending the night with him and his wife, Joy, in Henderson, KY.

We are planning on riding 50 to 60 miles a day starting in Cave-In-Rock, IL and finishing in Berea, KY.  This will be a huge challenge for me and no matter what, it will be a great adventure.

Stay tuned for further posts.

Heart 1 Comment 1
Theresa MatteiGood luck, cousins! ❤️
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
I told Morri that I would carry everything.......I think we need to rethink this 😜.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
“Road Closed” has never stopped me before.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My favorite place to stop after 30 miles.......or 2 miles.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The “great touring cyclist” Jeff Lee ate dinner with us tonight. We ate and told stories. Jeff and I have known each other since 1989 and have been cycling since 2005. Jeff has been hounding me to do a touring trip for 20 years. Well, here it goes!
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0