Jan. 8th - Ban Keun to Vientiane (Warmshowers) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 8, 2024

Jan. 8th - Ban Keun to Vientiane (Warmshowers)

Me:  I'm just going to follow Highway 10 today to keep it simple and make sure I don't get lost as I head into the capitol city of Vientiane today.

Also me:

What happened? 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

I left from where Google maps says Kenue Kang.  I obviously looked at the map before I left.  I obviously confused myself while looking at it and had stuck in my mind that the road to Ban Cheung was Highway 10.  To be fair, I had been reviewing a journal on CGOAB and the guy stuck close to the river.  I had looked at the map before leaving and saw I could also stick close to the river for a short bit before cutting over to what was not Highway 10.  I remember thinking, wow, this highway really isn't that busy which is why people say it's better than the main route on Highway 13.  Then, I see dirt road up ahead and think I've missed a turn so I stop and check my map.  Yep, time to backtrack about a mile.  Stop and check my map again.  What?  I missed the turn again?  I stop at a store and figure I need a little break anyways and there are some stairs I can sit on.  So as I'm sitting there and realized my mistake and trying to decide what to do the guy in the shop brings me out a stool and a cold water telling me, "free."  That was very thoughtful of him.  I did have sweat pouring off of me and maybe he saw me go by the other way and now I'm back.  Ha ha.

Yes, I was a bit frustrated with such a mistake, but I quickly moved on and just said I'd have to deal with it.  RideWithGPS, please don't let me down!  I had managed to arrange a possible Warmshowers for tonight, but said I'd check in with them mid-morning as I wasn't sure how my day was going to play out.  They wouldn't be home from work until 5:30 so I knew I had all day to get to Vientiane.  Well, here I go, I'm taking the scenic route. 

And by scenic route I mean this! In the past this would have made me a little scared. Remote roads and villages with only the locals around. But after my Africa trip, I have a new confidence I didn't have before.
Heart 0 Comment 0
It's going to be a grand adventure! I mean, look at this beautiful green rice field. Gorgeous!
Heart 0 Comment 0
More rice fields
Heart 0 Comment 0
The scenery is not bad and I basically have the road to myself. Well, except for the two dogs that gave chase
Heart 0 Comment 0
These huge trees brought back memories of Africa
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cute little bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0
Road conditions are deteriorating a bit through this town 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
A village
Heart 0 Comment 0
The local grocery store. Super happy to find a cold electrolyte drink
Heart 0 Comment 0
This lady, the shop owner, came over and gave my arm a squeeze indicating I was strong and she was impressed. Aww, thanks. Got to love the minion apron as well (which I didn't notice until later when I reviewed the picture)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mud alert. The people sometimes wet the road down to minimize the dust. Can't imagine having to deal with this every day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm heading down the steep hill to catch the ferry, but wait ... the second snake of the day is crossing the road by me. Let me get a picture! I think this guy might be a harmless rat snake.
Heart 0 Comment 0
$5,000 kip to get a short 5 minute ride across the ferry. I use the word "ferry" loosely.
Heart 0 Comment 0
All aboard!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The engine(s)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Again I ask, do you see a dock? And true to all ferry landings, its uphill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Looking back at the "ferry." Seems more like a floating sheet of plywood and grates. Hey, whatever works. I got across the river without getting wet.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I pushed up to the "main" road. Can you tell it's a little dusty? Aren't those palm plants suppose to be green? 😯
Heart 0 Comment 0
See that cloud of dust I'm about to be engulfed in? Joy.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cows going to the temple. I passed lots of livestock today. My favorite question I asked myself. Is that a goat or a dog ahead?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Part II of my adventure. I was doing point to point with RideWithGPS to keep things simple. I don't want any more mistakes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I finally made it back to pavement and was very happy to find an Amazon Cafe in Tha Ngon. Took a much needed rest break and enjoyed my lunch.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After lunch, I was on Highway 10 the rest of the way into Vientiane.  No mistaking it.  It was very busy, but I had a pretty decent shoulder the whole way.  It did start to get a little hot out this afternoon, but I arrived in Vientiane in good spirits.  Found another Amazon Cafe and while there took a chance and googled McDonald's.  Hey, I have a few hours to kill.  No such luck, but found another burger place with good reviews.  I detoured to the river front first expecting it to be a hopping place.  

Stumbled across Patuxay - Victory Monument. Per Wikipedia, it was dedicated to those who fought in the struggle for independence from France.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Glory was wishing this was his burger!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Because there's not much happening at the river front!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had learned there's not really a lot of touristy things to see in this city.  I had thought about going to the COPE visitor center/museum which is a museum dedicated to providing prosthetic limbs to people affected by UXO.  (Unexploded bombs from the war.)  Since I had seen the UXO museum in Luang Prabang, I decided not to go.  Did you know Laos was he most heavily bombed country back then?  They were trying to disrupt the supply chain to Vietnam so it couldn't be used against American troops.  The people of Laos pay the price to this day.

On to happier subjects.  I arrived a little early at my WS place so I hung out on a street corner nearby figuring I'd see them go by. 

More amazing electrical work/lines on display
Heart 0 Comment 0

Michael arrived home first and got me situated and eventually I headed off to a shower.  Jenni came home not too much later.  This couple works for a NGO and recently accepted a new contract in Laos.   It amazes me.  They are Australian, but have spent a number of years in Nepal, Papau New Guinea and other countries.  It was great chatting with them about what they do.  A couple of French cyclists were also slated to arrive tonight and all of us had a great dinner that Jenni cooked up.  It was so nice to be around other people tonight.  I stayed up later than usual chatting and I was feeling very tired.  My 40 mile day wore me out!

Today's ride: 40 miles (64 km)
Total: 460 miles (740 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0