Jan. 7th - Tha Heua to Ban Keun (Vansana Nam Ngum Resort) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 7, 2024

Jan. 7th - Tha Heua to Ban Keun (Vansana Nam Ngum Resort)

Yes, I took another boat

Today's boat ride down Nam Ngum Reservoir was the right choice even though it cost me $60 plus I gave the guy a tip of $5 at the end.  The views of the mountains were beautiful!  My driver didn't speak a word of English, but he was pleasant enough.  Not that we could have talked over the noise of the engine anyways!  It was very loud.  Comfort was also lacking.  The did lay a board for me and a cushion, but lack of back support for two hours was not great.  My back really hurt although I kept trying to stretch without rocking the boat too much.  I swear, it didn't take much to throw the balance off.  No worries though, they threw in a life jacket for me before we departed.  Never mind I'm over the weight limit of it.

My steed has arrived. Hotel manager, who speaks fluent English and my captain, who speaks none.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Not sure how exactly this works, but I saw a bunch of them. I'm assuming it's for fishing
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice view
Heart 0 Comment 0
Her baby was way on the other side
Heart 0 Comment 0
So I think she was going back for it
Heart 0 Comment 0
$60 shot! :)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Morning fisherman. My boat looks luxurious now doesn't it? I have a corrugated sheet metal roof!
Heart 0 Comment 0
The views were outstanding
Heart 0 Comment 0
Check out how the clouds just end on such a precise line
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The contrast of the greens and reds was really nice
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Howdy captain
Heart 0 Comment 0
Howdy Glory
Heart 0 Comment 0
No man is an island. But this tree is.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One giant boulder out of nowhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wish I was on one of these boats
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've arrived! Do you see a dock? Ya, me neither!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bye my boat
Heart 0 Comment 0
After my drop off I had the joy of a steep 1/2 mile climb with no warm up. I walked parts of it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
In case anyone is researching, this was my drop off point
Heart 0 Comment 0
A view from above
Heart 0 Comment 0
And really, I'm resting
Heart 0 Comment 0
The dam was the first hydropower dam built in Laos (wikipedia)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Nice flowers lined the roadway
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I thought I might stay at this well reviewed hotel along the river, but decided to keep going
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was only about 15 miles to where I planned to stay and it wasn't very hot out, there was cloud cover and it was earlyish.   Besides, I'm still anxious to actually ride my bike and get somewhere.

Pretty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the one lane bridge
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was following some of RideWithGPS and sometimes just sticking to the main road.  I decide to go to the route by the river and let's just say it quickly became clear the road was ending.  Someone yelled at me I needed to go back.  Ya, the way I just came.  

Oh, this looks like fun. Very rough chip sealed road with some extra rough sections thrown in
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm walking again. The sweat was pouring off of me, but actually I was still doing fine. I just count 100 steps at a time to keep my mind off the hill
Heart 0 Comment 0
Then I see this and think to myself, "Please don't let that be my road." It was
Heart 0 Comment 0
Red dirt anyone?
Heart 0 Comment 0
You never know what you might see when out biking
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I ended up staying at Vasant Nam Ngum Resort.  A place I thought I wasn't going to stay, but had eyed it.  The reviews lately aren't the best.  However, I stopped to just confirm where the other hotel was that I had picked out as I was getting close to town.  What do you know, the resort is right across the street.  Feel like I should at least go check it out.  The grounds are full of flowers, there are kittens, a beautiful view of the river.  Good enough for me at the bargain price of 250,000 kip.  That's $12 US.

This is more like it!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Walked into town looking for some food. I noticed this white cow seemed very happy on more than one occasion if you know what I mean! Must be his girlfriend he's following around
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just up from my hotel, a ferry across the river
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made a friend and gave him some pets. He's looking up at me wondering why I stopped. I love cats!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 420 miles (676 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0