Jan 6th - Vang Vieng to Tha Heua - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 5, 2024

Jan 6th - Vang Vieng to Tha Heua

The resevoir

I am currently poolside at The Sanctuary Nam Ngum Beach Resort enjoying an incredible view and watching butterflies flit by.  Life is good.

It’s not quite as perfect as it seems. That’s a Pepsi I am drinking 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a couple weeks off of my bike, I had thought about staying in this area by the reservoir, but it was so close to Vang Vieng, the resorts are more expensive and down a crap road.  But here I am 😀

The view from my porch … and my bed.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Got on the road at 8:00am and thought I would likely go to Hin Hoeup.  Wasn’t sure how I’d be feeling though and had previously toyed with going to one of the resorts.  

The road was torn up in parts, but only in short segments.  Still, made for some slow going at times dodging the bumps and potholes.  I was having such a great time being back on my bike.  The kids seemed friendlier and thrilled when I said hello or waved to them.  

Buddhas and electrical wires ruining the picture. Both typical.
Heart 1 Comment 0



And then, I see my front pannier is hanging off in a way it’s not suppose to be.  Dang it!  I’ve lost another screw.  I just replaced one in Vang Vieng and planned ahead.  I picked up a spare screw so no worries.  Thinking the Ortlieb end cap to the screw would have fallen in my bag it’ll be a quick fix and I’ll be on my way.  Except there is no end cap.  What the heck?  I dumped out my whole bag.  At any rate, now what?  I decide to  remove a screw from another spot and put it here except it’s too short for the layers it needs to go through.  Just them, a couple of cyclist pulled up.  They helped just enough so that I could get it nice and tight.  They’re just out on a short tour, but still nice to chat.  They mentioned they had stayed at a resort down in the reservoir and highly recommended it.  

I looked on Agoda, but it appears to be sold out.  I try calling a couple times.  Voicemail.  The other resort is pretty expensive for Laos.  It’s another Sanctuary resort which is the brand I stayed with on my overnight stop for the slow boat tour.  

I’m in the little town and trying to find a screw at the motorcycle type shops/hardware store.  No luck.  A couple of ladies offer to help.  Turns out they are staying at the Sanctuary resort which I have just missed the turn to.  I’m worried about my pannier holding up so I say, “Screw it,” no pun intended, I’m just going to go there.  It’s getting hot and I’d rather tackle the rest of the ride tomorrow.

I head down the bumpy dirt road with lots of red dust a a couple of hills I just walked.  I knew from the other cyclists it wasn’t more than a kilometer or so.  Was able to negotiate the price down some, but it’s still expensive at $55 a night.  

Exhibit A: bumpy dirt road
Heart 1 Comment 0

I get settled in my room and then promptly hit the very cold swimming pool.  

Walked back to town I search of cheaper coke and much to my dismay, every shop is Pepsi.  Finally find one regular coke.  Word on the street is Laos Beer is affiliated with Pepsi products and the locals make a little more money by selling Laos beer.

Kittens!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Watched an incredible sunset.  Ate spaghetti at the reasonably priced restaurant chatted with another couple and oh, did I mention I’m taking a boat down the reservoir tomorrow!! 😂. 

Fluffy clouds
Heart 1 Comment 0

I knew from another cyclist (thanks Bill Weir) that he had done it with a group of people, but it had been pre-arranged.  I wasn’t planning to do it, but casually asked about it at reception.  I negotiated the price some, but it’s going to cost me $60 for my private tour.  Sounds like the scenery will be great as there are a lot of little islands in this reservoir.  It’s beginning to seem like I am on a boat tour of SE Asia! 😂

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Night
Heart 2 Comment 1




Today's ride: 15 miles (24 km)
Total: 401 miles (645 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0