Jan. 5th - Vang Vieng - Hot air ballooning - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 5, 2024

Jan. 5th - Vang Vieng - Hot air ballooning

Sunrise extravaganza

Today's the day I have been waiting for.  Sunrise hot air balloon ride with "Above Laos."  It was pretty great!  Up at 5:00am for a 5:40am pickup.  Good practice as I'll be hitting the road with my bike tomorrow and here, the earlier the better.  We were squished in the basket like sardines in two rows of four.  Unfortunately, I had position three which included a big pole in front of me making it hard to easily get photos or just lean and enjoy the view.  Bummer.

After we landed, and after I fell sliding down off the edge of the basket to get out (hey, it was awkward climbing out 😂) we had a little brunch with croissants, fruit and champagne to celebrate.  

It was nice getting to visit with other travelers.  For the record, everyone said they had heard about the handcuffed body in the river.  Word gets around.  They also said someone else had seen a different body in the river here and another spotted in Cambodia.  Geez, what is going on?!

At any rate, great way to spend my last day in Vang Vieng and this bucket list item is complete!

Favor to ask:  if you are so inclined, can you please follow me on Instagram?  I am not super good about posting consistently but I am trying to grow my audience.  Thank you.

Instagram:  @KimJohnsonthecyclist

Quick, follow me now before you forget by looking at all the pictures below 😂😂

Burner's working
Heart 0 Comment 0
Light this baby up! (This isn't my balloon. It's the neighbors)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Balloon laid out ready for inflation
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inflation commence
Heart 1 Comment 0
Now we're getting somewhere
Heart 1 Comment 0
Good morning Vang Vieng!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking up. Looks solid.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Let's get out of here!
Heart 1 Comment 0
And, we're off
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunrise
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are the roads I've been biking out to the lagoons
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
No need to hike any of those hills for the viewpoint when I have this viewpoint and required a lot less energy! 😃
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 1
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't want it to end :(
Heart 1 Comment 0
The end
Heart 1 Comment 0
Celebrating by popping the corks. I celebrated with water. 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our pilot
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Sometimes you just have to sit back and enjoy the peace and tranquility before you very eyes.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Meanwhile, back in town.....

I may or may not have visited this adorable little kitten at the store again (a few times)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wow, fantastic sunset for my final night! I leaned out my window for this. Should have gone and watched it. Beautiful! Bye Vang Vieng
Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Rachel and Patrick HugensA day you will always remember.
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Rachel and Patrick HugensYes, most definitely. And to think I almost skipped this town!!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a fabulous day!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago