Jan. 9th - Vientiane - rest day - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 9, 2024

Jan. 9th - Vientiane - rest day

I'm taking a day off to do some route planning and let's be honest, it's not to be around other English speaking people as I'm always alone. The WS hosts were off to a class early this morning, so I didn't see them before they left, but I did spend the morning chatting with the French cyclists, Ophelia and Greg.  They have been traveling on bikes for 16 months.  His sister is flying in so they are spending a couple of weeks off the bikes.  They are going to do the Thakhek loop which I've heard about a couple of times now.  It's a popular route further south in Laos that people do on motorbikes.  I've looked at it a bit, but not sure it's in my range of "bikeable territory."  There are lots of hills!  The tradeoff is that the scenery is stunning and there are cool caves to visit.

For now, I actually did get my route planned down the Mekong River for the next week.  And yes, I am so happy to be crossing Friendship bridge #1 back to Thailand tomorrow.  Better yet, I am allowed to bike across this one.

Michael and Jenni were going to a hamburger joint for dinner.  I said I'd walk and meet them there, but Michael got to the house before I even left.  He said he had lights for my bike he could loan me so it did make more sense to bike.  I'm glad I did.  I get so stuck on walking places on my rest days when in reality, it was an enjoyable bike ride and actually the breeze kept me cooler than if I had walked.  Great dinner conversation and I learned more about Nepal.  (India and Nepal are also on my radar, but not set on going to either place just yet.)  They definitely peaked my interest about Nepal though.

They both are working in the airline sector.  Jenni is working with the air traffic controllers on their English as it pertains to their job.  Who knew that it was universal that all pilots and controllers speak English?!  Let's just say, the conversations we've had have given me pause about flying in or out of poorer countries where people may not be as fluent in English as you'd think! 

Anyways, so glad I was able to stay with them for a couple of nights.  Great people and I appreciate their kindness in hosting me and other cyclists over the years.  Nice to end my time in Laos on a positive note.

Michael and Jenni
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 462 miles (744 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0