Jan 26th - That Phanom to Mukdahon - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 26, 2024

Jan 26th - That Phanom to Mukdahon

Hotel MUQ

Nice view at breakfast
Heart 0 Comment 0

Had a relaxing breakfast enjoying the river view before deciding I should get to packing up and be on my way.  It was nicer out, with blue skies, but I only had 20 miles  to go.  Not even two miles out the gate I meet two cyclists heading the opposite way.  They pulled over and we all had a nice chat and traded notes for the roads ahead.  I love that about cyclists - the instant camaraderie.    So now it’s noon and I still have 20 miles to go.  I followed road 3115 and then the bike lane and road right along the river into Mukdahan after hitting the Friendship Bridge

I will never tire of colorful flowers to cheer me up as I ride these roads
Heart 2 Comment 0
Friendship Bridge. I liked my little light bulb in the sky too
Heart 1 Comment 0

I had picked a hotel with great reviews next to the bus station.  I knew I was just going to be inside researching anyways.  It may be the best bed of the trip so far!!  I also think it may have been my subconscious wanting me to catch a bus.  I went over and talked with them and found out I can catch the 11:30 or 12:30 bus tomorrow to Ubon Ratchathani.   Why would I do that you ask?

I talked to my dentist office in the USA Today and they said it sounds like I need a root canal and to get that done as soon as possible or things could get worse.

I’m on a time crunch to leave Thailand by the 8th and am also dealing with higher flight prices because of the upcoming Chinese New Year.  I can tell I am stressed to the max trying to sort logistics, so just decided to get back to Chiang Mai asap.

Winner!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 23 miles (37 km)
Total: 779 miles (1,254 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Andrea BrownI hope your dental work goes well, it’s no fun at all to try to get that done on the road, but Chiang Mai was a great choice for dental care.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago