Jan 27th - Mukdahan to Ubon Ratchathani by bus - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 27, 2024

Jan 27th - Mukdahan to Ubon Ratchathani by bus

🚌 🚎 🚃 a three hour tour

A leisurely morning in my hotel room as I am not allowed to purchase a bus ticket until 11:00am.  went back at 11:00, 157b for me, 100b for my bike.  No charge for Glory  Whew!

Looks okay from the outside
Heart 0 Comment 0
A little more rugged in the drivers area.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The bus took highway 212 and was about 3 hours long.  It was okay, but I was glad to get off the bus.

Time to pee, but can’t leave my things unattended at the crowded  bus station so I’ll wait.  Thankfully, my hotel is not far away.   I just went with the one cyclists Andrea and Bruce stayed on and also per her recommendation.   The reviews on it are really strong.


But first, what’s that I see? THE Golden Arches?!   No way am I missing out on that since I failed to pack snacks for my lunch that should have been two hours ago.  Besides, they have bathrooms!  Headed across the highway and really enjoyed my first good hamburger in months!  DElICIOUS!!

Next, I head to my hotel and get Checked in and promptly google bike shops in the area.  First two were strike outs , but they called the 3rd shop and they did have bike boxes.  Off I go, a kilometer further away.

I got the box and asked them if they could help me get a taxi back.  A cyclist in the shop asked where to and when I told him the hotel they were impressed I had walked that far. He says, “I’ll give you a ride back.”  Lucky me!! I love the kindness of strangers!

The kind stranger
Heart 2 Comment 0

I got back and spent the next couple of hours boxing up my bike.  Nok Air has  a flight direct to Chiang Mai tomorrow.  All other flights have a stop over in Bangkok)   I get everything done and go ahead a book the flight. 

Time for sleep
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 783 miles (1,260 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0