Jan. 24th - Nakhon Phanom to That Phanom - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 24, 2024

Jan. 24th - Nakhon Phanom to That Phanom

First, let me just post a pic of my rather nice hotel that I just spent the last few days enjoying.

I miss this room already!
Heart 2 Comment 0

What I did not miss was ?the owner? who seemed very picky.  They wanted me to park my bike outside, (absolutely not) but I was able to bring it in and lock it to the railing of the staircase.  This morning, I brought all my bags down, unlocked my bike and he wanted me to take my bike outside to load everything.  I just told him it was easier to do it there -- because my bags are right next to my bike!  Duh.  I just ignored him and got my bike loaded up.  Based on all the rules in the room, I think it's just the way they are.

The weather has cooled down substantially (barely 80 today) and the winds have really picked up the last couple of days.  So, my 8:30 am start didn't really matter because it wasn't going to be roasting hot and I didn't have far to go.  Another 30ish mile day, but darn it, I forgot my friends had told me about a place 15km further and I easily could have made it.  

It was all highway 212 riding today.  Nothing too exciting, but the riding goes by fast.  Lots of agiculture again.

My first picture opportunity today 😂
Heart 2 Comment 0
I loved this mix of flowers. Would be perfect for Valentine's Day
Heart 3 Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltMy mom grew hollyhocks. My sisters and I made dolls of them using the blossoms as dresses and unopened buds as heads.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat's kind of cool. Next time I pass by, I'll give it a shot. :)
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Load of hay approaching! They let me go by before taking over my shoulder.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wow! This is a tall tree!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Near the end, I looked over to what seemed to be a nice road/path over the water.  I couldn't get to it right away, but sure enough, when I switched over, it was a bike path on a quiet road right along the river.  The river was also a very pretty color of green.

These may look like four innocent dogs, (ones already napping again) but 30 seconds earlier, they were all approaching me and barking like crazy. Had to come to a complete stop. 😨
Heart 0 Comment 0
Mine. All mine. (Once I got past those pesky dogs.)
Heart 3 Comment 0
It's not fish farming. See the plants. What the heck is going on?
Heart 1 Comment 0
I love the color!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
And what the heck is being built here? It looked very cool.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I had to go with two twins tonight or deal with stairs. I like wheeling my bike right into my room.....
Heart 0 Comment 0
I could be a friend for Glory, but he's back in my hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0
See how bent those leaves are? It's very windy!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hi again Laos over there.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was reviewing (Bill's) journals and saw there is a temple in town that's pretty popular.  I mean, it has 12,000 google reviews.  Thought I'd do something different and go out and dark tonight as it's only about 1/2 mile away.  Thought it would be neat to see in the dark for once.  It was cool and there were tons of monks in the standard orange robes as well as a bunch in white robes .... chanting away.  Was kind of a neat experience.

I headed to the main temple first. Took a side street, on my wayb back, but that entrance to this was closed
Heart 1 Comment 0
ROAR! Guarding the entrance
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wat Phrathat Phanom Worarmahawihan.
Heart 1 Comment 0
It was nice to wander around in the evening
Heart 0 Comment 0
Interesting painting along the wall
Heart 0 Comment 0
Chanting and paying their respects
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Chanting away
Heart 0 Comment 0
Notice the women in the back. I've not seen that before.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bye
Heart 0 Comment 0
umm, a new twist on "fish for sale"
Heart 0 Comment 0
A cool arch I went through as I made my way back to the river
Heart 1 Comment 0
I'm going to go chant myself to sleep now. I actually tried to listen carefully to see if this is in fact what was being chanted, but I wasn't that dedicated to the cause. Plus, more than one group was chanting.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a really hard time falling asleep last night so am sleep deprived.  Off to bed early tonight.

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 749 miles (1,205 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0