Jan. 20th - 23rd - Nakhon Phanom - rest days - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

January 21, 2024

Jan. 20th - 23rd - Nakhon Phanom - rest days

I'm still here

I spent two nights at NP Residence and then decided to switch to a hotel more central.  Picked "The Square Hotel" and it was so great, I kept extending my stay.  Centrally located.  Only a couple of blocks down to the busy waterfront area and night market.  But really, I just needed some down time and this being a modern hotel with a HUGE tv that gets YouTube and Netflix, I decided to enjoy it while I can.  Besides, I needed to do some route research and make some decisions about which way I am headed.  I'm pretty sure the plan is to head to Ubon Ratchathani where I have the option of a train or flight to Bangkok.  However, I am not that far away from Laos 4,000 islands area and have debated multiple times about continuing to Phnom Penh, Cambodia or Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam.  After my final day of research, I think I have decided to stick to the plan to get to Ubon Ratchathani and then make my way to Bangkok.

Part II of the trip has always been a plan to go to Sri Lanka.  Better make it happen sooner than later.  Stay tuned.  I'm actually packed up and hitting the road again tomorrow.

Let's start the pics off with more fun statues along the river front. They crack me up!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I wasn't sure what these were, but finally bought one. Pretty sure it's like a giant tater tot, but cold. I had them warm mine back up.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There's been a lot of activity down along the river, but not sure what is being celebrated. At least it's not boring around here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me trying to make route plans
Heart 0 Comment 0
I made sure I got in a ton of Corey Hart videos to ease my stress about route planning and dealing with some not great news from home
Heart 1 Comment 0
This was hilarious. I offered to take their picture (there was three of them) and instead I ended up in all the pictures and videotaped 😂 I'm standing at complete attention because I wasn't sure it was approrpriate to touch them. I had to ask who they were and they are the Tourist Police.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My next car 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0
The poor cat is wearing a duck sweater! I'd be grumpy too.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Okay, the boat hasn't even left the dock yet. Why is everyone wearing life jackets?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 2 miles (3 km)
Total: 716 miles (1,152 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0