Feb. 9th - Puttalam to hwy hotel 17 kms before Anuradhapura - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 9, 2024

Feb. 9th - Puttalam to hwy hotel 17 kms before Anuradhapura

Got on the road at 6:40am this morning.  Not as early as I hoped, but I knew there was a lot of gentle climbing and needless to say, I'm trying to beat the heat!

Most of the highway (and houses) I rode this morning had electric fences to keep the elephants away. Did make me wonder why I was seeing elephant poop on the highway!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is for real
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The road passed by Tabbowa Wewa and the views and reflections were stunning at times
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My favorite
Heart 2 Comment 0
Blooming Lily pads, pale pink
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I've seen these pots over wood fires a lot the last couple of days. I saw this guy throw corn in. Oh, so that's what they are cooking and selling.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked the flowers on this, I think, abandoned building
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another warning. After I took this picture, I looked to my left and there was a dirt road/track with lots of elephant poop on it. Time to move along!!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

I found an actual bus station with seating, and it wasn't too crowded, so I took a long break and ate "lunch" at 10:30am.  I'm 23 miles in, 23 to go.  I've been doing a lot of gentle climbing all morning, but worse yet, is a blasting headwind.....again.  

When you have to stop and try and discreetly reapply chaffing cream to you know where, you may as well take a picture of your bike while you're at it
Heart 2 Comment 0
Corn kernels. I swear, if I add some cooking oil, we're going to have a popcorn extravaganza!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0

So happy to see a Food City store.  A real grocery store where I grabbed some milk (also had a banana milk) and a cold water.  I came back out and was looking for somewhere to sit out of the sun.  The store was getting a delivery, so some personnel were outside.  One of the guys figured it out and was so nice.  He went and brought me a stool and made sure I was in the shade.  Probably because I looked like I was dying too!  When I stop, the sweat just pours off of me.  😂

Just because the container is pink does not mean it is strawberry milk! Google the flavor ingredients. I still didn't know what they were, but it seemed like a cross between black licorice and cinnamon
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm wiped out with about 16 miles to go.  What happened since my last break?  Oh I know, it's hot, I'm tired and the wind is sucking the energy out of me.  I look at Google maps/Booking and see a resort with a swimming pool about 4 miles ahead.  I think I'll check it out even though it's price on Booking at about $45 which is over my budget.

It's called Lavendish Wild - Wilpattu even though the signs out front say something entirely different.  I ask what the walk in price would be.  Much to my dismay he tells me 6,500 rupees without breakfast.  Can I see the room first?

This will do
Heart 0 Comment 0
Huge room!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I feel better now!
Heart 0 Comment 2
Nedene Hennrichwhat is this hotel name?
Reply to this comment
2 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Nedene HennrichSee paragraph above pic “this will do”
Reply to this comment
2 months ago


I probably spent an hour in the pool just cooling down and enjoying the natural surroundings.  They are building more bungalows to the right.  My legs were cramping a little in the pool, but happy to say they didn't cramp at all tonight so thats great news.  I fully expected I would.  Maybe all that stretching I did today, plus some electrolyte tablets helped.

The rice field view from the edge of the pool. I loved watching the rice blow every which way in the wind. Sometimes, it's the simple things that make me happy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had been messaging with Claire (the cyclist I met yesterday) as she was going to Anuradhapura (where I'm supposed to be).  Obviously, she was dealing with the headwind as well.  I told here if she was worn out, I had an extra bed.  I figured she'd make her destination, but she did say she'd stop in.  She did and we had a brief chat before she had to continue on to beat the darkness.  It was nice to see a fellow cyclist again and we will likely met up again.  She's heading to the north, but I'm slow and like my rest days so she will likely catch up to me.

I could have made it to Anuradhapura, my goal for today, but the price of this hotel was too good and I had a relaxing afternoon instead of pushing the envelope.  I will be a short ride tomorrow, but that's okay.

The hotel guy wanted a picture of me after asking if I was married, and then wondered why I wasn't and said I was very beautiful. Listen Mr., you're a little young for me! 😂
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 925 miles (1,489 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0