Feb. 8th - Back tracking to Puttalam - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 8, 2024

Feb. 8th - Back tracking to Puttalam

Made a point to enjoy my villa and checked out around 10:30am knowing I only had to go back to Puttalam which is just 19 miles (30km) away.  

Last night when they asked me about breakfast, they said there would be a pork cutlet and a chicken sausage (think hot dog.)  I asked for 3 eggs as well and orange juice.  No problem.  When they serve me, the guy tells me he told them double portions which was ridiculous, and there was no pork cutlet and I got lemon juiced instead of orange juice.  I asked for the pork cutlet as I was really looking forward to it and I don't really care for the hotdogs.  Only one guy really spoke English and he said no problem.  So I finish eating and am waiting and they bring me out a fruit tray.  Uuugh, lost in translation.  I was frustrated by that point and said never mind.  I said I'd eat a couple of bites of bananas then they thought I wanted more bananas which sure, I'll take them.  Didn't touch the rest of the fruit platter.  The guy was really friendly and spoke some fluent English, but obviously, not enough.  For as much as I paid for this villa, it was disappointing to have these service lapses.  This wasn't the only one.

As I was packing up, I took time to just watch the monkeys at times.  They would come and drink out of my plunge pool and look in the windows.  If I moved at all towards the window, they would run away. 

Settled my bill which also took forever because the guys phone wouldn't connect so he could e-mail me the receipt.  Again, frustrated as I had wanted to pay it earlier so I didn't have to wait around when I was ready to go and here I am waiting around.  Already sweat pouring off of me, I finally said, send it to me later.  A day later I finally received it.

Enjoying my ride back as I was getting up some speed when the wind is with me.  Just as I'm crossing a bridge, I see a cyclist coming towards me.  I pull over in the shade and over comes Claire from England.  We had a great chat and exchanged contact info.  Good chance we'll meet up again.

I headed back to the Taj Residence hotel.  I had called ahead because I saw on Booking that only the fan rooms or expensive rooms were left.  I asked them to save one for me.  It was more expensive, but I had a nice couch to relax on and I bargained it down some.  (After I said I may as well go to the hotel with a pool for a just a bit more.)  The guys at this hotel were all helpful and nice and I would recommend it.

Taj Residence hotel
Heart 0 Comment 0

I went to Pizza Hut for dinner and afterwards, walked across the street to watch the sunset.  I had a stone table and chairs all to myself, but not for long.  First a girl comes over and asks if she can take a selfie with me.  I asked for one in return.  That was the extent of the conversation.  Then a young family joined me at my table without even asking, but the baby was adorable.  They didn't really speak much English, but I had fun getting the kid to smile.

Beautiful sunset and I'm not sure what was up, but 50 million crows were flying by!  Weird.

Heart 3 Comment 0
Sure, you can take a selife with me if I can have one with you too
Heart 1 Comment 0
Check out all the kids jewelry.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

 

  

Today's ride: 19 miles (31 km)
Total: 890 miles (1,432 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0