Feb. 6th - Chilaw to Puttalam - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 6, 2024

Feb. 6th - Chilaw to Puttalam

Happy to report my seat post stayed out today so one less worry.  Just the heat and humidity to worry about now.

Fruit for sale at the side of the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
So beautiful!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some guys came out to see if I needed help when I stopped to adjust my seat at a nice picnic table. They told me they had a restaurant. Went in to grab a drink and then I decided it was time for a second breakfast. Trying to pace myself today I’m the heat
Heart 0 Comment 0
Huge, cool looking tree with all these vines hanging down. I made sure none were snakes!
Heart 0 Comment 0
What’s in a name?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
The cow is looking for the drive-thru. He’s hungry!!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wildlife sighting nicely framed
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltSome kind of heron or egret. I will guess great egret with that long neck.

https://ebird.org/species/greegr
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I was starting to overheat again and needed to find a place for a break.  I finally see a good place to lean my bike and a chair.  I pull over and cool down.  I’ve drank so much water today, my stomach is a little sick.  I finally found electrolyte drinks too.  They just put them on the shelf.  None in the cooler because I mean, who would want a cold electrolyte drink when you’re dealing with this heat? 🤦‍♀️ 

Puttalam didn’t have many hotels with great reviews.  A little tricky to find the one I wanted, but when I got there, the price was over my daily budget!  There was a swimming pool though and it’s close to KFC, Pizza Hut and the waterfront.  The guy did lower the price to 12,000 rupees ($40 US) but when he showed me the room, it had a dark, depressing interior.  I told him I would go check out the cheaper hotel and if I didn’t like it, I’d come back.  He had also mentioned there were cheaper hotels.  I went to the one with less than ideal reviews and it was totally fine!!  Taj Residence.  I got one of the newer room with a/c.  (I guess there are some older ones too with just fans.). The price was a much more reasonable $7,000 rupees ($22 US).  So glad I didn’t settle and once again proves that you can’t always trust the reviews.  With the money I saved, you can bet I headed to Pizza Hut for dinner!

Today's ride: 33 miles (53 km)
Total: 852 miles (1,371 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0