Feb. 5th - Negombo beach to Chilaw - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 5, 2024

Feb. 5th - Negombo beach to Chilaw

Making good use of my airline tags. Maybe I won't get run over!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I saw and smelled a bunch of fish markets in the beginning, but it felt intrusive to stop for a photo of it as they are trying to make their living selling today's catch.  I also thought I'd see more, but didn't see any phot worthy ones.

Heart 1 Comment 0

I stayed on the main road for about the first 16 miles to Mahawewa.  Traffic was super busy and I had to pay attention.  I was having issues with my seat post.  It was constantly slipping down and I had to keep stopping to adjust it.  Not making good time in the scorching heat and humidity.  Finally, I stopped at an auto shop and they came over to help me.  The guy seemed to think my cheap tool from Thailand wasn't sturdy enough to allow me to tighten it fully.  After he tightened it and I was ready to leave, he ran back over and gave me an allen wrench to take with me.  I love when people are just randomly kind.  It seemed to not be slipping anymore so I checked the maps and found a place to cut over to the beach road which should be quieter.

Crossing a bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Never mind the boy, Glory's friends are on the poster
Heart 2 Comment 0
These two boys were so cute. They kept racing to pass me, then I'd catch up and pass them, then they'd race to pass me again. Cute!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Can you tell I'm on the beach road now?
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is more like it
Heart 2 Comment 0

I passed a fancy smancy resort and there were some seaside restaurants.  I should have stopped, but I decided I'd go to the next one that looked good.  Except there was no next one that looked good.  I have a massive headwind, but it's helping to keep me cool(er).  I stop for a short break for some water.  It's not enough.  The heat and humidity are getting to me and I can tell I'm getting heat exhaustion.  Nothing to do but keep pedaling.  I think if it gets too bad, I can cool down in the water, but it's a rough surf in most places and seems like a bit of a sand drop off.  There was some shade in the little shacks, but I'm so hot at this point I don't think getting out of the sun is going to help much and will just prolong the agony.

Boats lined up on shore. A bunch of them had little shacks built from palms. Little boat garages if you will. I never did stop for a photo. I was too hot!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Interesting cemeteries/grave plots. See how the dirt is piled up on top of the graves?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bird life amongst the pretty purple flowers
Heart 0 Comment 0
These goats probably don't appreciate their amazing plot of land
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I'm approaching Chilaw I am getting seriously overheated.  I actually pass by some stores as I am so close to my hotel.  But I'm dying plus I don't like to show up looking like I'm dying. 😂  I finally stop and get some cold water and rest before completing the last mile or so.

Yes, please!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Nice murals along the walls of the hotel
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was so tired that when I arrived at Aurora Hotek, I forgot to take a picture of the room.  It was nice although the long staircase ti the second floor about killed me.  Every. Time.

About two weeks off my bike is showing.  I saw a bike shop close to my hotel, briefly stopped, but the guy totally ignored me so I got mad and left.  The hotel owner went back with me later and communicated with the guy who was busy trying a wheel.He eventually came over and tightened my seat even more.  I broke the bolt once over tightening it so was nervous.

My legs are shot  and the right quad massively cramped two separate times.  I thought about taking a rest day as the hotel was super cheap compared to what Booking was showing, but I am anxious to see if my seat problem is fixed so I will push on.

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 819 miles (1,318 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0