Feb. 4th - Airport to Negombo beach/tourist area - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

February 4, 2024

Feb. 4th - Airport to Negombo beach/tourist area

Put my bike back together this morning.  It always takes me way longer than I think it should.  Mechanics are not my strong suit.  I was very disappointed to find a huge scratch in my top tube.  I needed a couple of new sprockets for my derailleur in Chaing Mai and ended up paying the guy to pack my bike "properly."  It was worth it to see how he placed my wheel and the handlebars.  I had him add some padding, but obviously not enough.  In hindsight, my way has always worked fine and the reality was, most of my bike was already taken apart anyways.  Bummer!

Had a delicious breakfast.  I think she gave me mango.  Whatever fruit it was, I actually liked it.  Was a little disappointed to receive only one egg though.  😂

I was moving over to the touristy area of Negombo beach.  Only about 7 miles.  It will give me a chance to adjust to he chaotic traffic.  I didn't leave until noon and ya, it was HOT!  As I went to leave I pointed my bike the way I thought I was going, but stopped and was checking my map.  The owner comes running over and says, "Excuse me madame, Negombo is that way."  (Points opposite direction.)  Isn't it funny how you can get so disoriented and think you know where you are?

Ready for Sri Lanka!
Heart 3 Comment 0

I head out and ya, traffic is busy.  People are shouting hello.  I immediately realize my seat needs adjusting so pull over by a compound/facility that has a wall in the shade and I can lean my bike.  This man walking by stops and says hello and then obviously wants to sell me something.  I tell him no thanks and get back to work.  Next thing I know this older gentleman is approaching the front of my bike.  He stops and stares at me so I say hello.  Nothing.  Get back to work again.  He just stands there watching me the whole time.  Okay, that's a little creepy.  

I actually ended up on a quiet road for a bit.  I was enjoying myself and thinking, "I can't believe I'm here!"  Go back to the busy road and man, it's a little unnerving to have vehicles barreling straight at me as they pass people in the other lane.  I use the term "lane" loosely.  It seems anything goes.

The most peaceful part of my ride. I waited for no traffic to get this shot as it was pretty.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Corey Hart refers to his fans as the "Caravan." As one of my friends said, this is a sign of good things to come.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I make my way to Sujeevani Villa which had great reviews, but more importantly, a garden and a swimming pool.  I check in to my "villa" but really, I've got the whole first floor of a house!  What the heck?!  Turns out, he lowered the price just to get it rented.  Works for me although I didn't really use anything except the bedroom and the fridge in the kitchen.

Before I go for a swim, I decided I should go check out the strip of town and see the beach.  It's ridiculously windy out so not enjoyable at all.

Negombo beach
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sand is an interesting color as is this boat....
Heart 3 Comment 0
DO YOU SEE HOW IT'S HELD TOGETHER?! 😨
Heart 1 Comment 0

Come back and go for a swim and meet a couple from the Netherlands who had also just arrived and were very interested in my biking.  Always nice to meet fellow travelers.

Heart 1 Comment 2
Nedene HennrichWhat service did you use to book this? Agoda, Booking.com,airbnb etc.?
Reply to this comment
3 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Nedene HennrichThis one was on Agoda. I frequently use Booking as well.
Reply to this comment
3 months ago

I had seen there was a SPAR grocery store in town and know they will have peanut butter, and a better grocery selection in general.  PB is a must have for this trip for me!  (I already have jelly.)  The hotel tells me I can grab an Uber.  Sure enough, tuk tuks are on Uber.  Away I go!  Fun!  Well except Sri Lanka is tuk tuk hell and have I mentioned the crazy traffic?!  We almost hit a motorcyclist on the way back!ber

Uber, tuk tuk style. Incredibly cheap too!
Heart 1 Comment 0
He had a great dashboard and poor Glory missed out on making some new friends.
Heart 0 Comment 0
See what I mean?
Heart 1 Comment 0

Shopping done, I decide to go find a restaurant.  I've actually missed lunch and I'm starving!  I cut through one and get distracted by all the activity down at the beach.  A live band is playing (although walls up to hide them from view) and a gazillion people.  It's Independence Day in Sri Lanka.  I walk along the beach and find some food carts.  Was brave for once and ordered a couple of items.  One was a bit spicy and the other seemed like some sort of little corn kernels deep fried.  They were popular.  I was quite amused that the "containers" were paper folded and glued that was somebody's homework at one time.  Totally sanitary, I'm sure!

I was a little sad because it would have been much more fun to be experiencing this scene with somebody.  One of the pitfalls of traveling solo. 

Night
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 7 miles (11 km)
Total: 790 miles (1,271 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 0