Dec. 10th - Chiang Rai - rest day - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 10, 2023

Dec. 10th - Chiang Rai - rest day

Blue Temple

My first day I headed over to Fat Free Bicycle Shop.  Hmm, got to wonder about that name.  (They were on two shops recommended by Triple Cats Cycle in Chiang Mai.)  Needed to see what, if anything was going on with my rear quick release.   Operator ignorance, it's fine. Picked up a spare tube and glue and was on my way to check out the Wat Rong Suea Ten, aka the Blue Temple.  I was almost there anyways.

But first, mango and cocunut ice cream with some blue sticky rice
Heart 2 Comment 0
Delicious
Heart 4 Comment 0
The entrance to the Main Temple
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Inside the main temple. Buddha, itself is ver 18 feet tall! I must say, I was in awe!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The inside artwork is beyond impressive
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
My friend Cinda's travels were curtailed a couple of years ago and she made this nice bookmark for me to take in my travels. Waldo's at the Blue Temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
In case you wanted to see the inside of the dragon's mouth
Heart 1 Comment 0
A bunch of these on the outside of the temple. Why? Because the wat name translates to "Temple of the Dancing Tiger"
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I liked this guy
Heart 1 Comment 0
There's was a joke on FB about my "crown" before my friend realized I was talking about my tooth. This is me goofing off trying to give myself a crown.
Heart 1 Comment 0
That's a lot of skulls! What happened to peaceful temples?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Disturbing
Heart 1 Comment 0
The backside of the main temple
Heart 1 Comment 0
Blue. Very blue. (Blue also happens to be my favorite color.)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
The end
Heart 1 Comment 0

Not much else to report today.  Basically, hung out at my hotel the rest of the afternoon.  It's a 20-minute walk into the main part of town and I wasn't up for it.  I did book a new hotel for tomorrow....with a swimming pool which I really appreciate in hot Thailand!

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 184 miles (296 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonI’m glad you had a nice relaxing day!
Reply to this comment
4 months ago