Dec. 9th - Tha Ton to Chiang Rai (with a little boat help) - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 9, 2023

Dec. 9th - Tha Ton to Chiang Rai (with a little boat help)

A relaxing cruise

** I took yesterday's page down as for some unknown reason, only the captions are showing on my pictures, not the pictures themselves.   I have no idea why they aren't viewable as they all loaded just fine when I'm in edit mode.  Will make visible again once the problem is solved.  I written in for help unless someone has any ideas.....

Today's adventure....

I had read about a boat from Tha Ton to Chiang Rai in other cycling blogs.  What I did not know was that because of Covid, the public boat stopped running.  However, never fear, I can charter a boat if I want to pay the full price.  The owners of the homestay made some calls, but said no other passengers had scheduled yet.  We went to a hotel across from the boat dock this morning and I was informed I could share a boat with another lady.  I was told last night, it would cost me $2200b by myself.  This morning, I am told the other lady will bay $1000b, and I will pay 1400b because of my bike.  The math doesn't really add up and I was annoyed.  I felt slightly better when I saw she was a Thai lady and since my dollar goes further, I let it slide.  

Like today's ride? It's a longtail boat
Heart 2 Comment 0
Like today's ride? Next stop, Chiang Rai. The boat looks totally seaworthy if you don't look at the floorboards!
Heart 4 Comment 0
Typical scenery on the three-hour tour. Ha ha, our tour ended successfully!
Heart 1 Comment 0
I feel a little underdressed compared to the cute outfit of the lady behind me.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Saw a bunch of these along the river in various places
Heart 2 Comment 0
We made a stop at a village along the way. They were selling bracelets and ice-cream
Heart 5 Comment 0
Nice to get out and stretch my legs. The bench is literally on the floor of the boat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Laundry dries in no time
Heart 3 Comment 0
A dinosaur!
Heart 1 Comment 0
A boat going upstream
Heart 2 Comment 0
What's this growing on the hillside? Reminded me of pineapple, but I don't think that's it
Heart 0 Comment 0
OMG, I am so sad for these elephants. I am not a huge animal activist by any means, but I did not like this place. Elephants shackled with chains and riding platforms on all of them. She looks sad too.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There were actually some sections with little rapids. I trusted the captain knew the river well enough to avoid the rocks
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kids excited to see us along the bank. They all jumped in after we passed by
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
It was a fun ride and I sure did love the cool breeze. Better yet, I didn't have to do any pedaling to generate it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Yellow flowering trees
Heart 2 Comment 0
I see more flowers!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We're almost there. This is nice!
Heart 3 Comment 0
I've arrived. Now to find a hotel. All the ones I had picked out are sold out. (I'm a day early and after yesterday's chaos, I didn't bother looking last night.)
Heart 3 Comment 0

I picked out Jansupar Court hotel.  It has great reviews.  I did have to lock my bike down in the carport, which makes me nervous.  The owners were really nice and fluent in English.  I ended up booking a second day just to keep my life easy.

I did walk into town and wandered down through a market.  Again, wall to wall people and it was early. 

The famous clock tower
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another day, another temple
Heart 2 Comment 0
Nice big room and semi-hard bed. I'm still tired from yesterday's ride so slept pretty well
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 4 miles (6 km)
Total: 179 miles (288 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0