Chiang Dao - rest day - Kim and Glory - Cycling beyond - CycleBlaze

December 7, 2023

Chiang Dao - rest day

Checking out Chiang Dao Cave

You know, this early in the trip, and with my lack of fitness, I should not be calling biking 12 hilly miles a rest day!  But first, I had to switch hotels.  I went the mile or so down to the one I wanted to stay at, but no one was at reception.  Waited a while, then went ahead and booked on Agoda thinking that would trigger someone to show up.  Nope.  Finally, another guest was able to contact the owner and after telling me "two more hours" because she had to call the maid.  Thankfully, the maid showed up quickly and got my room ready.  And then the rain starts.  Uuuuugh.

Eventually it stopped, and I made my way to Chiang Dao Cave which is the attraction in this area.  I paid 40B to do the main path that is lit with lights.  You can opt for a local guide for an additional 200B to go into the dark caves with a kerosene lantern.  (Not allowed to go by yourself.)  I skipped this as I've been in many caves and didn't feel like going through tight passages in dank conditions.

I worked hard for the view of the mountain - the one you can't see!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Took a rural road up to the cave passing many fields along the way
Heart 2 Comment 0
And one extra pretty dragon as it's not the typical gold
Heart 2 Comment 0
The mountains across the way are beautiful
Heart 3 Comment 0
Omg, here we go again with "69" (Bryan Adams reference) Is the universe trying to tell me something?!
Heart 0 Comment 3
Bill Shaneyfelt69
The year I graduated from college and also got married...
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kim JohnsonTo Bill ShaneyfeltBut the real question is, do you like Bryan Adams' music? It seems like you should.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Bill ShaneyfeltTo Kim JohnsonSadly, I know not. Being hard of hearing, I don't listen to music.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Beautiful water near the entrance to the cave filled with gigantic koi fish
Heart 4 Comment 0
Looks like a lost city with it being so overgrown
Heart 1 Comment 0
Entrance to cave looks totally inviting, doesn't it?
Heart 1 Comment 0
The cave system is on temple grounds which has extended into the cave
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Stuff is even up near the ceiling
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I was the only person around for quite awhile. It's a bit creepy.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Then I see this. Should I be worried?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Didn't even notice the sleeping Buddha on my way in. Saw it on the way out. I need to google what the significance is of leaving tokens
Heart 1 Comment 0
For example, why does the Buddha have a bigger wardrobe than I do? And why was there a section of makeup?
Heart 2 Comment 0
Back to civilization....and, about that SUCCESS? 🤔
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
A beat up, but cheery yellow, garbage truck. I had a Ford Escape that was this color although my car was in a little better shape
Heart 1 Comment 0
Took a different route back. This is "Giant Trees Alley." The locals were thrilled to see them.
Heart 2 Comment 0
My cute cottage for tonight (the name is in Thai language only, but just under $500B)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Home sweet home
Heart 3 Comment 1

Today's ride: 12 miles (19 km)
Total: 128 miles (206 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Andrea BrownWe liked Chiang Dao but I wasn’t about to go deeper in the cave and breathe kerosene fumes. It’s astounding they even allow those in such a delicate ecosystem , much less how harmful they are for humans to breathe. The scenery there is first rate.
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Kim JohnsonIt was absolutely beautiful!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago
Rachael AndersonWhat a great cave and your photos were beautiful!
Reply to this comment
5 months ago