Day -5 - Packing the Bike - Floating Across The Netherlands - Tandem Tour - July 2022 - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2022

Day -5 - Packing the Bike

The last ride is done, the last tweaks to the bike are done, and now there's nothing left except to pack the bike.

This process involves 2 basic steps:  First, disassemble the bike almost completely.  And second, fit all the parts into the suitcase.

It's always a challenge...


Here's the bike halfway through the disassembly. I've got it upside-down so that I can split it apart. I've just removed the rear triangle.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Once into pieces, then the Tetris project starts.  I had to have Robin help me with this part - she's way better at it (and way more patient) than I am.

After a considerable amount of back and forth, accompanied by some rough language, We finally triumphed!  22.8kg of bike stuffed into a standard suitcase!

All ready to go. I hope my home scale is calibrated reasonably close to the ones in the airport.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The entire bike actually fits in the Samsonite suitcase, but the combination of bike and suitcase weighs too much for flying.  So when we fly, we leave some of the tubes out of the suitcase.  They go into a duffle with our shoes, helmets, and other bike paraphernalia.

Ready to go. It's hard to believe there's a rideable tandem in there.
Heart 5 Comment 0

So now, we just have to pack our clothes and we're good to go!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Bob DistelbergThat’s pretty amazing. I wonder what the screeners think when/if they x-ray it?
Reply to this comment
1 year ago