Day 83: Sisters to Sisters - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

August 1, 2006

Day 83: Sisters to Sisters

Not much to report today. Putzed around camp a bit after sleeping in. Rode the three miles or so into town to check out the place and assess the fire situation. Hit the library briefly with the Germans but didn't feel like doing much of anything there, which was probably good b/c they didn't give me much time anyway. Spent too much money at a saloon-type establishment that ended up being where Patrick picked for supper with the group, too.

These signs were going up all over town
Heart 0 Comment 0

Oh yeah, the night before the group voted to officially adopt me according to Jacques' wishes that I use the remainder of his food allowance, but that adoption also meant I became a part of the gift exchange the group would be doing at the end of the trip, so I had $10 and some shopping to do for the person whose name I'd drawn. My shopping went pretty easy where I opened a travel book and read something about how America had been built on its houses of pancakes since my person was known for taking second (and sometimes third) breakfasts at a café before leaving the overnight stop, if possible.

Lattes Allowed at this gallery...yup...I'm out west
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shopping done and not feeling very sociable and not being much of a shopper, I headed to a café/dessert bar/beer and wine cellar on a quiet street for a beer and carrot cake break. Too bad they closed at 3ish, or I might have stayed there until dinner time.

Mmm. Carrot cake and Beer. I spent part of the afternoon at this little place getting refueled and just sitting there.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Dinner was an ok prime rib for me (partly paid for by Jacques!) followed by a quick ride back to the ranch before dark. I was feeling kinda down about the trip ending and sought some alone time near the pond we were camping by before heading to bed disappointed with my moodiness and unhappy that we would have to reroute onto the easier Santiam Pass alternative instead of the main McKenzie Pass route because of smoke and fire danger.

Today's ride: 9 miles (14 km)
Total: 4,215 miles (6,783 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0