Day 82: Ochoco Lake to Sisters (almost) - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2006

Day 82: Ochoco Lake to Sisters (almost)

Today was a slow, easy day of riding after yesterday's 7500 feet of climbing and almost 80 miles. Everybody at camp seemed slow to get up and moving, and having some of the coldest temps in the US last night where we were didn't help the motivation to get out of the sleeping bag.

We (ACA group, me, 3 Germans) are at a ranch just outside of sisters for today and tomorrow. I'm having a hard time writing anything since I'm spending most of my time socializing and enjoying the last days of the trip. That the end of the trip is this close seems so unreal. Just 3 days of riding left, if everything goes as planned. One rest day at Sisters, Ride to McKenzie Bridge, Ride to Eugene, and Ride to the Ocean. That's it...

I wish I could have kept this site updated better, and I have a lot of work to do on it when I get back (work that most of you probably won't read since the trip will be over), but I'm still overwhelmed by the people who've been following along and giving encouragement. Almost 100,000 hits. Amazing...

Ron was going around taking pictures of everyone and everything this morning, so I turned my camera against him.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Patrick and Tim being tough in the cold morning and refusing to put on more layers...and it was chilly!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Robert even put on his full rainsuit. We thought he kinda looked like one of the firefighters we'd been seeing around...
Heart 0 Comment 0
I'm not sure what this look was about...I think Ron and I told him to look innocent or something
Heart 1 Comment 0
Old guy (mid-80s) we met in Redmond--he was a Northern Tier veteran and now builds recumbents for himself
Heart 0 Comment 0
Reminder as we neared Sisters that we were still moving TOWARDS the massive forrest fire
Heart 0 Comment 0
Helen took over this chair and declared herself queen of the apartment on the ranch grounds we camped at.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Chow time...everyone gets really focused on eating!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Smoke from the Sisters fire
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of the mountains and some smoke at dusk...yes, we are headed toward the smoke
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 48 miles (77 km)
Total: 4,206 miles (6,769 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0