Day 84: Sisters to Mackenzie Bridge - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

August 2, 2006

Day 84: Sisters to Mackenzie Bridge

My foul mood of last night followed me into today. OK, I was downright miserable. I rode a few smoky miles, reflecting on the trip, not wanting it to end, anticipating goodbyes and re-entry into civilized life. Patrick caught up with me and rode alongside, trying to get me to talk and laugh, but I was pretty bad company and felt like crying. I paid enough attention to the scenery to notice roadside waterfalls, but I climbed with my head down a good part of the morning.

I camped under this tree by this little pond. Oh, and that's smoke, not fog...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Early morning smoke in Sisters--the air had been clear the day before.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Updated fire maps and evacuation plans were posted publicly every day...there were also public meetings twice daily for fire status updates.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sorry McKenzie Pass...not this trip. I gotta go straight.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We had to ride through this for the first part of the morning
Heart 1 Comment 0
This poor little guy got separated from his mom who crossed the road just ahead of me. He was making all sorts of pitiful sounds. I told him I'd be a crossing guard for him, but he wouldn't come...hope they got reconnected safely : (
Heart 1 Comment 0
Fire damage from some years past on the way up Santiam Pass
Heart 1 Comment 0
Erie and Jim caught up with and then passed me and Patrick as we were snacking on the side of the road
Heart 1 Comment 0
Patrick looking cute and trying to cheer me up...I was really down about the end of the trip coming.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Just a little waterfall on the side of the road...couldn't believe that so many people rode right by this...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Patrick tries to get me to laugh by squishing my head near Mt. Washington...I appreciated the attempt, but it didn't make me feel much better :(
Heart 0 Comment 0

Santiam is my last big pass of the trip, and it wasn't as difficult as I'd expected. By the time I got to the top, I was in a slightly better mood, having read messages from the riders ahead of me taunting the climb. I celebrated at the top with Pepsi and a bunch of the group who seemed reluctant to leave the pass.

Our last big pass...and it wasn't that tough
Heart 2 Comment 0

After that, I felt a little better but let people go ahead of me, catching up with and passing them in a long construction zone where they'd had to wait for a pilot car to take everyone through. After the construction, Patrick told me to keep an eye out for a good spot for lunch, and a bunch of roadside waterfalls became just the place. We wondered how everyone else could just ride past them without noticing, even on a slight downhill, but Alvin finally came by and ate with us, he and Patrick both trying to cheer me up.

I caught up with a bunch of people at the construction zone
Heart 0 Comment 0
Patrick told me to find a good spot for lunch, so this is what I picked. There were a few falls in a row here, and again, most people rode right past.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Me at the lunch stop
Heart 0 Comment 0

But it was Alvin's bike, Donkey, that provided me with some much-needed laughter. Alvin had laid Donkey on his side along the broad shoulder to come eat with me and Patrick in the shade. The guys were discussing post-ride life when Patrick asked Alvin if he planned on racing again anytime soon now that he was back in shape, to which Alvin replied that he didn't have a race bike and didn't really want to go back to that. But what did him in was saying that Donkey wasn't fast enough to race. Just then, Donkey decided to tip further over and bucked Alvin's helmet pretty far down a steep incline. Patrick and I were watching when it happened and just started laughing. We couldn't even get out the words to tell Alvin where his helmet had disappeared to, so I used sign language of patting my head, pointing Alvin, and pointing down the embankment.

Patrick and I derrived great fun from watching Donkey buck Alvin's helmet down a steep, steep slope. I needed a laugh today...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Pretty soon, we regained our ability to speak and recognized this as a potentially serious problem, but I was enjoying it nonetheless. I thought the bank was steep enough that maybe Alvin wouldn't even attempt to go retrieve the lost item, but he struggled through the massed vegetation toward his lost lid. I wasn't sure how he was going to get back up, but he got to the helmet and started climbing. He struggled up the embankment, holding the helmet in one hand and the trees in the other before I told him to strap the helmet on his head and pull himself out of there! The entertainment was priceless!

Alvin emerges from the jungle slope, helmet firmly attached to his head.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me and some lake...maybe I'll look it up later.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I finally let about everyone ahead of me and rode alone for a while after taking a little walk in the woods. The road was really gorgeous and I was still feeling down, so I took my time.
Heart 1 Comment 0
But this made me smile for some reason...
Heart 0 Comment 0

Not that I was any faster after lunch, but I had plenty of time to finish the miles and decided to take a walk through a bit of the woods before finishing the day. The campground at McKenzie Bridge was overgrown with damp, old forest growth but only had pit toilets. But someone who had arrived much earlier found a nearby RV park with showers for a buck. And they were wonderful.

As did this...Alvin in his sexy Yogi pants rolled up for riding back to camp from the shower location
Heart 0 Comment 0
I don't know which mountain this was, but it was pretty
Heart 1 Comment 0
Me taking a picture of Alvin taking a picture of the mountain
Heart 0 Comment 0

Camp felt expectant as group gear was divided up after the riders cooked their last supper together. I helped with dishes (part of the responsibility of being adopted) and enjoyed beer and marshmallows around a campfire before succumbing to sleep.

Last supper the group has to cook for themselves (Patrick, why do you always look like a dork when I take a picture of you eating?)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Alvin tracking down dirty dishes for us to wash...Helen being Helen and taking pictures of us doing dishes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Patrick and Tim put together a marshmallow roasting/beer drinking extravaganza at camp, so the day ended better than it started
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 4,274 miles (6,878 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0