Day 46: Denver to Estes Park by car: Rest day #3 - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2006

Day 46: Denver to Estes Park by car: Rest day #3

Mmm. The hotel bed and pillows were so comfy I decided not to get out of bed for a while. Mom brought me breakfast in bed (hot chocolate and oreos...hey--it's vacation!) and we lazied around watching Cool Runnings on TV. It's a good day when you can take a nap at 9 a.m.

Breakfast in bed!
Heart 1 Comment 0

I needed some stove fuel and shoes for walking around, so we eventually checked out and headed for Bass Pro Shops. I hadn't had on real shoes for a month and a half, so trying on shoes felt funny. I hate shoe shopping (actually, if it's not camping or biking gear, I hate shopping in general), but I found something pretty quickly so we could head to Coors field to get tickets for the afternoon Rockies game, where we sat by a woman who kept telling almost every batter to hit the ball into her canvas tote bag and almost poked mom's eye out with her umbrella while trying to get the attention of the fan cam. We left before the game was over to avoid traffic since we didn't really know any of the players and definitely didn't know where we were going to get out of there.

What my mom's gonna do if one of these buggers decides to bother me up in Yellowstone or somewhere...
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trip up to Estes was uneventful except that we didn't have directions and were relying on memories of our last trip there 11 or 12 years ago, but mom got us there ok despite grouching on my part that she hadn't gotten directions ahead of time. We crashed in our friends' home and waited for them to get off work, mom happily staring at the mountains of Rocky Mountain National Park from their front deck and me happily staring at a computer screen indoors.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0