Day 47: Estes to Estes: Rest day #4 - CircumTrektion: TransAm 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 26, 2006

Day 47: Estes to Estes: Rest day #4

One last rest day, although I did contemplate riding today a bit. I'm just too lazy to put the bike back together, although it would have been fun to coast down from the top of trail ridge road 20 miles or so down to Estes. I guess coasting doesn't really count if you haven't ridden up, too.

Me 'n mom at Rocky Mountain National Park
Heart 2 Comment 0

We went into the park this morning, sat in on a program about bighorn sheep put on by our ranger friend, and drove up Trail Ridge to the visitor's center. You sure don't get to see as much while you're driving, but there was a good-sized group of bikers riding up the road today. They were all skinny road bikers on scrawny bikes with fancy gear and matching jerseys, so I didn't really feel like stopping to talk to them, even though I knew my mom wanted to brag on me and my trip to them. Take that skinny dudes.

Had lunch at about 11,700 feet up and contemplated my upcoming ride over Hoosier pass at just over 11,500. Mostly I was convinced to keep the cold weather stuff I had my mom bring "just in case" instead of trying to whittle down my pack weight. I don't like being cold, but I'm sure I'll have some chilly nights in the tent coming up. Strange to think I was burning up just a few days ago. Now I'm in a wool sweater.

It's a little chilly up here at 12,000 feet!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bighorns near the top of Trail Ridge Road
Heart 1 Comment 0

The plan for tomorrow is to leave here at about 10:00, take my mom back to the airport and drive back to Pueblo. I'll drop of the car and get back on the bike to head somewhere west of Pueblo and back on the route. But first I need to repack my stuff... Tonight will mark the first time I've slept in the same place twice since Radford, Virginia. Strange nomadic life this is.

View from the deck...not too shabby!!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0